Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

picky-eatersI can’t tell you how often I have heard that sentence, or variations of it, being said by mothers and fathers to their children. Whether it be breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a snack that you’ve prepared for them, kids are finicky eaters and above all they are just not as adventurous as adults (with food anyway). Well, in my household, I don’t have any children yet, aside from my fluffy white bunny who I love to treat like a baby, so it is pretty awkward when I find myself uttering those same words on a near daily basis. The only difference between my situation and those of you with kids is that I am talking to my husband. Yep, that’s right!

My husband is the most finicky eater I have ever met and it is so frustrating trying to cook new and exciting things with his aversion to so many foods. I mean, it’s not just that he is super picky, that would be simple, it is that he is afraid to try anything, ANYTHING, that he might not have had before or that maybe he tried as a child and didn’t like. So, the way I have to handle these ever present situations are by approaching them as if he were my child and forcing my hand, otherwise we’d be eating microwave popcorn and some form of pasta every meal.

This morning, for example, was no different then any other day as I suggested that we make BALT sandwiches (bacon, avocado, lettuce and tomato) for dinner tonight. My husband was his typical self and said, “Nah, I don’t want that. I’m not a big fan of BLT’s.” A line he says all too often when speaking of various foods and I replied, “Oh shut up! You’re going to eat it and like it!” So, we went into our grocery store and gathered up the ingredients and took them home to start making the sandwiches. I chose Pepperidge Farm’s white/wheat swirl bread (which is spectacular by the way…), a big juicy beefsteak tomato, a nice ripe hass avocado, some lettuce, Hellman’s (the ONLY mayonnaise!), and some thick sliced applewood smoked bacon. I placed the bacon strips on a cookie sheet and put ‘em in the oven at 400 degrees for about 16 minutes before taking them out, draining them on a paper towel so they’d stay nice and crispy (because I can’t stand soggy, rubbery bacon). Next, I took my toasted bread and slathered some mayo on it, piled on my veggies and bacon and closed that sucker up! Cut it across diagonally and I was ready to chow down…and my husband, the finicky eater that he is, proclaimed after one bite, with the food still in his mouth…”MmMmMmmmm! I love BLT’s now!” So, if you are in the same situation as me, don’t just roll over and make the standard foods to appease your fussy man…just tell him to suck it up and chew! He will damn well like it once he has taken a bite! 20131112-183315.jpg