Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

MV5BMjA0Njg3NTkwM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzgyNjQ3MDE@._V1_SX214_CR0,0,214,317_Shonda Rhimes is, without a doubt, the best thing to happen to TV since Nutella hit my toast! Everything she puts out grabs my full attention and hooks me like an anchor on the sea floor. She had me at ‘hello’ with the first episode of Grey’s Anatomy, 10 seasons ago, and I have followed her wherever her creative genius cares to travel ever since. With shows like Grey’s, Private Practice, and Scandal, which is about to wrap up its third season this coming Thursday, and is on fire, it’s proof that this lady knows how to write highly addictive dramas!

With both Grey’s and Scandal approaching their season finales, I got to thinking about Shonda’s career and what else she has done or will do in the future, which led me to look her up and what I found shocked me. I found out that she wrote and produced some movies that I absolutely loved! For example, the movie Crossroads with Britney Spears, which was totally adorable for all of you Britney haters, ;) was written by her as well as The Princess Diaries 2, which was completely cheesy but totally adorkable in it’s own right. I mean, those films were where I, like many others, fell in love with Anne Hathaway and who doesn’t love her? (SHHH! if you don’t! lol)

00027037She has done other things that I’ve never heard of also but her three hit prime time television shows are enough to earn her accolades, although I wish Private Practice hadn’t called it quits after only six seasons but I suppose it was time. I was sad to say goodbye to Addison (Kate Walsh), who I didn’t even care for when she was on Grey’s but then I totally fell for her on PP, and Charlotte (KaDee Stickland), sweet Charlotte. Haha! Sweet, not always but she definitely had her mama bear moments. That character gave tough girls everywhere a huge helping of pride every week because she resonated full on “girl power” with every look given, word spoken, and sashay strutted. I sure hope to see Strickland and Walsh back in the acting world soon.

MV5BMTUwMTQyMTIwMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjI1MzU2Nw@@._V1_SX640_SY720_Anyway, Shonda has been given flack for things she shouldn’t have said or done, but she’s also been praised for many other things on the flip side of that, however that is hardly my point. My point is that I love her shows and her cast choices so much. Some people may not dig these shows but I love, love, love ‘em and I know that I am not alone. I mean, Grey’s is so popular that it is just referred to by the short first word and everyone automatically knows what you mean, even folks who don’t even watch it, although after 10 seasons most people are thinking it should take its leave already. I can’t say that I am on board with that idea though, not yet anyway, although I do think it isn’t what it used to be, but that’s okay with me. It is a nice intro for Scandal, which is the big boss in this block now. I mean, Kerry Washington is superb as Olivia Pope and as herself! I can watch her and the gladiators steam up my screen any night of the week because that show is HOT! Nobody messes with Pope & Associates, especially since that lady sashay’s like the best of ‘em! She’s another Charlotte embodied in yet another beautiful leading lady.

So, my bottom line is this, whatever Shonda Rhimes is doing, it’s almost like she is weaving gold and I am salivating for more! If you’re not a fan, that’s cool, but if you are, here’s a virtual high five for liking awesome, kick-ass things! :)

