Thirty waiting in the wings

The other day I was talking to someone about getting older, and she got this unbelievable look of sadness and fear in her eyes about turning 30 this year. It got me thinking about my age and what turning thirty will mean to me and here is what I came up with:

This may sound odd, and about 1 year and 5 months early, but I am quite anxious to reach the usually dreaded big 3-0. This is not because I am trying to rush through life or even because I have any particular fondness for getting older. It is more because of the fact that I am so tired of hearing about how I’m “just in my twenties” and how I will really feel life’s struggles and/or joy’s once I’m over that hump, so to speak.

My problem is, I don’t think that any age should be discredited along the way. I mean, we all have to age. It is inevitable. Why be so bitter about it? I think that I may be the only person I know who is happy about aging, well, aside from my mom, who fully embraces her soon to be 53 years young birthday coming up in May. I feel like with every passing year, I have gained that much more life experience. It’s a right of passage, really.

This August will bring forth my 29th birthday, my final year in the twenties is soon to begin and I am honestly not really going to miss them. I mean, of course I had great times and learned a ton of really useful things, and a ton of other junk that is hardly useful at all. I met my fiancΓ© during my twenties, graduated from college, went back to college, read a ton of excellent and life changing books, met some great people, and many other things. There is no shortage of great memories that I’ll take with me across the hump to the next decade of Krystal-dom but, there are also plenty of things I wish to leave behind. Sayonara! Au revoir! Ciao!

So, in this final year of the ever desired “twenties” I will gear up for the years that are apparently “serious business” [insert stern look] and hope I do the other thirty-somethings proud!

Today you are you, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is youer than you. – Dr. Seuss

Happy Birthday to Dr. Seuss, who would’ve been 108 today! Now, doesn’t that make the thirties seem less daunting? πŸ˜‰

14 thoughts on “Thirty waiting in the wings

  1. CJack says:

    When I was in my late 20’s I dreaded turning 30. I was sure that my life wasn’t going to be where I’d expected and that as the clock struck midnight I’d immediately be hit with the weight of an adulthood that I wasn’t prepared for…then when the actual time came and the clock literally struck midnight, I was onstage in a production of The Rocky Horror Show, wearing a tutu and a corset, covered in glitter while my Husband of 1 year was being undressed to his tightie-whites by a man in platform heels and purple eyeshadow.

    When I was 28 it wouldn’t have even crossed my mind that that’s how I’d be turning 30…get ready…and kick any expectations you may have to the curb. πŸ™‚

    Happy Birthday…in 5 months!

    Like

    • Krystal Rose says:

      That is completely awesome! Rocky Horror Picture Show is one of my favorite movies EVER! What a great way to celebrate your 30th birthday, or any birthday for that matter πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for sharing that with me. I am definitely looking forward to my future and at 28 myself, I am now even more excited to think of what kind of amazing things I might be doing upon the strike of midnight on my big 3-0! LET’S DO THE TIME WARP AGAINNNNNN!! πŸ˜‰ And thanks for the birthday wishes!

      Like

  2. Birdie says:

    Yay for you for feeling the way you do about getting older!! πŸ™‚ From my own experience, turning 30 was a great thing and turning 40 was an excellent thing. Life has only gotten better… am looking forward to 42! (Coming up at the end of this month.) πŸ™‚

    May adding the years to your life be exciting and unforgettable, too! Just try not to rush through them… savor each day as you would each morsel from a very expensive box of chocolate. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. graveyardsandgrasslands says:

    This is something I’ve been considering recently too. I recently turned 26 and it got me thinking about the hump of “mid twenties” being behind me. I think I am less fearful about turning 30 as I have a sister and cousins etc who are all older than me.

    I’ve had a lot of conversations about music recently too – how we tend to classify music (at least in the UK) by decade… “80s rock” “90s anthems” etc etc when really, music (indeed anything in life) doesn’t follow the decades and years – it pretty much does what it wants.

    When we got past 2010 I was hoping that the manufactured RnB would make an exit from the UK music scene but in reality we don’t suddenly hit a new decade and change our lives…

    However, I guess from the other side a new decade for anything or anyone can mean a fresh start, a clean break, a new page… it just depends on your mindset!

    Another lovely post – thanks!

    xx GnG xx

    Like

    • Krystal Rose says:

      Thanks for your input, and I agree. Music is supposedly a generational thing but I find that it is more about what suits you at a particular time in your life. Any year, month or even day can bring us a fresh start, you’re absolutely right. For me, as I get older, I am enjoying more music from my childhood or that of my parents than my own generations music, not that I don’t have favorites now of course. It is just what connects with me at the present time in my life, and music is such an influential part of life I feel. I grew up with musicians for parents so it has always impacted me greatly. My dad and stepdad are best friends who were in a band together and my mom is a singer so the ranges of “generational music” is in massive abundance in our houses. A cousin of mine in England listens to things that are from before my time and she is about 7 years younger than me, so it is interesting to see what we all lean toward musically as life goes on. Great thought! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Inger Hellstrom says:

    Congrats, Krystal Rose, for your healthy attitude to aging. As someone who grew up in another part of the world, and at a time when today’s stress on youth and looks would have been called frivolous and a waste of time, I consider myself lucky. Maturity and inner balance were things worth striving for when I was young, and that way aging never bothered me.

    As someone said, “You don’t GROW old, but when you stop growing you ARE old.”

    Happy journey and carpe diem!

    Like

  5. The Guat says:

    Funny…when I was 29 I thought that too. I worried about turning thirty and not “making it” …. bucket lists and the writer’s dream, published and living large like John Grisham. Once I hit the big 3-0 I was published, but wasn’t living large…so I extended the deadline…extensions are awesome πŸ˜‰ So no worries about 30…it’s not too serious, but you get gray hair which is kind of serious πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Krystal Rose says:

      I’d love to be living large like Grisham, or, any popular author in print these days for that matter. Haha Extensions on deadlines are awesome indeed, the ones for your hair are too, I’m told, although I can’t afford that kind of luxury quite yet. πŸ˜‰ And you can always dye those grays away if need be.

      Like

  6. onceuponafriendship says:

    Great post! I think it is great that you aren’t worried about getting “older!” I am not worried about it either, and I have already hopped over into the 30s. It’s not so bad. πŸ™‚ I know many people worry and fret about getting older and I try to be understanding. For me, age is just a number and it is how you feel on the INSIDE that makes you who you are! ~ Alicia

    Like

    • Krystal Rose says:

      Thanks Alicia! πŸ™‚ I agree, age is just a number and how you feel is all a mindset and after a long time of feelings as though my life was not where it should be, I realized that I was being ridiculous. I am exactly where I should be because this is the path I have chosen for myself and I am pleased with it.

      Like

  7. Anna says:

    Better celebrate your last year of being in your twenties! πŸ˜‰ I’m turning 30 this year and I have this irrational fear that being 30 will make my world collapse. I’m blaming this on society, since they pretty much imposed that when you’re 30, you need to be stable and settled down. Lol. And what you said is true: “I don’t think that any age should be discredited along the way.” I pretty much agree!

    Like

Join the conversation

