My second, first semester of collegiate life…

I’ve almost survived my first semester of college! Well, my second, first to be exact. You see, I obtained a degree back in 2004 in Paralegal studies but have since realized I loathe the field. Now I am on the track to get a BA in English, having to unfortunately start from the beginning again though with my Associates. It has proven to be a great choice and as I am nearing the end of Spring semester, I am pleased as punch with my progress.

I am currently enrolled as a full-time student for an AA with a transfer afterward to University. Math, Strategies For College Success, Contemporary Literature and English II are the classes I have been taking this first term. Thus far, I am kicking ass and taking names! Studying, research papers and group discussions fill my days, and often my nights but I love it. Being a student a second time around is proving to be the absolute right choice, a fact of which I was unsure of prior to my second, first day. Back in 2002, when I was going to school for legal studies, I skipped class sometimes and didn’t give my full attention to what I was even doing there. That could be due to the fact that I was 19 though, which in retrospect makes total sense since I am now almost ten years older and more serious about what I want.

I have always envied those kids who know from childhood, or at least by the end of high school, what they want to be “when they grow up”. It always made me feel inferior, like I was missing some essential thing deep within that knew who I was supposed to be. As the years progressed I realized that this just isn’t true. Some people are born knowing that they should be dancers, singers, lawyers, doctors, etc., while others have passion for things all their lives but they don’t truly believe enough in themselves to think those passions could actually become a real career. Not to mention, a lot of parents don’t approve of many career paths in fields under the “Arts” label, thankfully my parents are not like that. They pretty much sat back and let me steer my ship.

I think that during my journey through life I have always known that I want to do something creative, I just was never sure exactly what. I have always had my nose in a book and had a love for writing poetry and stories. Drawing/painting and other crafty things have always been of interest to me as well, with singing and dancing mixed in there too, not that I can carry a tune or move with any rhythm, but hey, it’s still always fun! I have always been pretty much drawn to anything that I could put my own flair on. I am a creative being, someone who is not looking for fame or fortune from the things I create, just someone who is looking to be happy with what I am contributing to this world. To my life.

Being back in school for a degree in English is about as perfect as I can get at this point. I tossed various ideas around in my head of majors I could go into, be it Journalism and the like or something involving Art, but English stood out to me most. I have never been the kind of writer who wished to write for newspapers, however, I wouldn’t turn it down nor would I turn down the chance to write for magazines or any other publication. My style is just more on the path of creative writing, hmm, there’s that word again. CREATIVE. πŸ˜‰ So, here I am, at the end of my second, first semester in college and I have more hope then I have had in quite some time. For my present, my future and for a kind of redemption for poor choices in my past. I have discovered that it is never too late to go after your dreams, so long as you run after them with everything you’ve got. Plus, a couple of major highlights in the process are more Starbucks (for those late study nights, and let’s face it, every other moment I can get myself there) and perusing the school supplies section of stores without needing to have a kid. (I am literally obsessed with school supplies, all pretty and new πŸ™‚ See above image for some I acquired for this past term!) So, is anyone like me, back in school or even going for the first time?

Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about CREATING yourself.

14 thoughts on “My second, first semester of collegiate life…

  1. graveyardsandgrasslands says:

    That’s brilliant!!

    I completely agree that sometimes you need to grow up a bit before you really know what you want and can enjoy getting it. I started uni doing a BA in English Lit in 2004 and while I did pretty well I generally slacked off because I was also going through that whole experience of moving out of home and making new friends which at 18 takes priority over studies!

    I went on to do a masters and then (after supervising in a cosmetics company for a few years) I went back to do my PGCE and managed to really flourish and get great marks in so many of my assignments!

    In England a lot of universities don’t count the marks from your first year towards your final degree and I think this is really important because most students need that time to settle down!

    Going back to uni to do another degree is still not off the table for me! I might just become a mature student in the future!

    P.S. Glad you have returned!!!!!

    Like

    • Krystal Rose says:

      πŸ™‚ Thank you very much!! I am glad to have returned as well, it has been great! Is a BA the same in England? That is awesome in regards to the universities dropping the first year! That would be so helpful here in the States, especially since most students in college come straight from high school. I knew I wanted to move to England for a reason. haha

      Like

  2. Jillian says:

    I am so glad we both made this decision, and I absolutely feel the same way about it maybe it is because we have both experienced life and had a chance to grow up so we appreciate college life now. Who knows!!! Good luck in the final weeks of the first semester:P

    Like

  3. Ninay says:

    It’s sinking in now that I have great love in making something creative like arts or writing yet I already finished a degree in Nursing. I haven’t worked as one yet because it’s taking me a hard time to get a job.Perhaps because i don’t like this but I have to do it anyway. Your post is inspiring and I’m happy you’re chasing your dreams and the desires of your heart.How blissful and fulfilling it must have been. πŸ˜‰ Keep it up!

    Like

    • Krystal Rose says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ It has been a wonderful thing so far and I am excited for what’s to come. Nursing is a great career, I am too squeamish to get into medicine though. lol I think that I’d be a doctor if I knew I could work at Seattle Grace Hospital with the Grey’s staff.

      Like

      • Ninay says:

        Nursing is self-less service and a calling.I am waiting to be called. πŸ˜‰ I’m happy to what has been happening to your life now, chasing your earnest dreams! Excited for more stories too! God bless you.

        Like

  4. The Guat says:

    When I graduated college the keynote speaker said something I’ll never forget … he said in life you’re probably going to have two, three, maybe even four jobs/careers before you get the one you want so don’t get disappointed if it’s not instant success. Keep going and stay passionate.

    I thought holy crap!

    So I tell you now … keep going girl. It’s never too late. πŸ™‚

    Congrats on finishing your second, first semester πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Krystal Rose says:

      Haha! I would have said “HOLY CRAP!” too! To be honest, I said it anyway while reading the top of your comment. πŸ˜‰ I can barely wrap my head around finding one career let alone up to a possible four. Yikessss! Thanks so much for your comment and the well wishes πŸ™‚ I agree, it is never too late!

      Like

  5. Violet says:

    I could not be any prouder than I am right now for you. You have magnificently taken on a new role in your life. You got through the ups and downs of relationships, been hurt, dragged around and abused verbally by some. You rose above all you have endured in your life. You are what I have hoped for as my daughter and so much more. Rise baby Rise, this is your time to SHINE!

    Like

  6. Aurathena says:

    Congratulations on finishing your second first semester! πŸ™‚ I think it’s good that you’re figuring out what you’re good at; if you don’t love what you’re doing, what’s the point? πŸ™‚

    Like

Join the conversation

