The Adventures of…

A while back I was watching an episode of Four Weddings on TLC and one of the couples chose to have a hand puppet, named Murray the Dinosaur, be their ring bearer. I can’t quite recall the full back story of the puppet, but I believe the couple bought it early on in their union and since acquiring him, he has accompanied them wherever they’ve traveled and they document his travels with photographs. I know, this sounds incredibly strange, but I thought it was pretty awesome and loving all things quirky, it inspired an idea that has quickly been adopted by my parents, fiance and I. Sooo…

yesterday, my mom and I took a mini road trip up to Naples, FL to hit the outlet shops and to visit a few other places of interest. Our first stop when we got there, since we hit the road at 7am, was Cracker Barrel. I mean, by 9am we were just famished and, well, who doesn’t love the good ole’ CB? Anyway, prior to being seated we perused the store and stumbled upon the perfect friend for our newly inspired adventures, and while we did not go out and buy a hand puppet, or even a dinosaur of any kind, we did find a pretty cute character to star in our photos. That character is none other than Gumby! The รผber cool and bendy green guy who is beloved by many, but most of all by his best friend Pokey, whom he misses dearly while he is off traveling with us, but they send each other postcards.

At that precise moment we both exclaimed, “He’s perfect!” Haha! Geez, I just love my motha! Right then we slapped down the $5 on the counter and ripped open the packaging that was suffocating poor Gumby and as the receipt was printing our name was called. It was kismet. For the rest of the fun-filled mommy/daughter day, we posed him and snapped his picture wherever we went. It was a day of laughter and bonding with our old but renewed friend.

Here are some pictures of The Adventures of Gumby

Enjoy and get your butts out there for some quirky fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

Check out my new page dedicated to Gumby’s Adventures here ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “The Adventures of…

  1. SweetP says:

    Poor Gumby! Almost getting eaten by that Lion!!! This is hilarious!!! Absolutely LOVE this concept and what a wonderful thing for you and your mom to do together! You may have to get copyright rights to this concept! You could make lots of money off it ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m thinking of how to fit this into my life!!! Love it!!!

    Like

  2. Violet says:

    Gumby woke me up early this morning because we needed to shower and head off to work. Hi Ho Hi ho its off to work we go. Hopefully today will not tire him out. Mondays can be pretty busy. On another note our mommy/daughter day was thrilling and I can’t wait for another one to come.

    Like

  3. crubin says:

    This made me laugh because I have 2 smaller Gumbys in my car. Unfortunately, my teenage son likes to mold them into, ahem, let’s say rather inappropriate positions. It’s always a surprise to see what position Gumby is in everytime I enter my car. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciate it!

    Like

  4. Kim says:

    Hello there!!! I’m Murray’s “keeper”. So glad that we have inspired you to start your own tradition, Gumby looks like he has a blast where ever he goes!! Can’t wait to check out your web page ๐Ÿ™‚ you can see some of Murray’s early adventures at murraythedino.com!

    Like

Join the conversation

