My fantasy friendship with DJ Tanner…

This morning, while perusing my favorite guilty pleasure, Hellogiggles.com, I came across a post, by a rather funny and pretty adorkable writer, about a much beloved television character from my past. Our past, I should say. That character is Donna Jo Tanner, better known as DJ, or for us more intimate fans who pretended to be her, Deej. ๐Ÿ˜‰

From early on in my childhood and all the way up to my current age of 28, the show Full House has resonated deeply with me. I have seen every episode at least a hundred dozen times. From silly episodes to those that had me reaching for a box of Kleenex, the show definitely made an impact. I mean, who didn’t want their very own Uncle Jesse to sing them to sleep at night or a celebrity father or a comedian uncle or, or, or? Either way, Full House can easily be listed as a show that I grew up on and like my fellow Full House-ites, I was crushed when it was canceled after the 8th season, which caused it to end on an unfinished note. I feel like we’re still hanging on their last words, waiting and waiting and waiting for the finale.

(My DJ phase)

The thing that caught my attention with the post over at HelloGiggles was that she wrote about how “Everything I ever need to know, I learned from DJ Tanner”. She points out great memories from the show, all centered of course around DJ, some of which I wish were true in my life, like having a close bond with an aunt or a dad who fixes everything with a bowl of ice cream, because who doesn’t love ice cream? My only real pet peeve with the show was the character of Stephanie. She got under my skin and I could’ve smacked her a million few times. Whoever thought that putting Jodie Sweetin between an Olsen and a Cameron was a good idea, well, the proof is in the character. The whining ramblings of a middle sibling portrayed on a weekly basis, ugh, gag me with a spoon! I just don’t get the appeal, but I guess they knew what they were doing. 8 seasons is nothing to sneeze at, after all.

Anyway, the fantasy friendship I had with DJ was renewed once more back in 2007 when her and her hubby opened a little restaurant near my home here in South Florida and the meat supplier just so happened to be where my mom works. It was called Milk and Honey Cafe and it looked super cute, the only problem was, with the knowledge that I could literally walk right up to my childhood role model I became freaked out. I mean, what if she wasn’t like DJ at all? That would pop my tiny little fantasy bubble. So, like an idiot, I opted not to even try. Sadly, and wouldn’t you just expect, the little cafe was short-lived. It closed the door to patrons and to me ever having the chance to get my ass in gear and walk in to meet Candace. *kicks self* Oh well. DJ lives on in reruns and in my heart, and yes, I know, I am a big ole’ dork! ๐Ÿ™‚

Whatever, the point is, DJ was the bee’s knees; she was gorgeous, smart, had the wholesome goodness of a glass of milk, attracted some hot eye candy as she got older, she had a goofball best friend in Kimmie Gibbler who was loyal to a fault, and she had a stellar family. What more could a girl want? DJ Tanner was my role model, in my dreams, because seriously, I could only fantasize about being so wholesomely adorable. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “My fantasy friendship with DJ Tanner…

  1. Violet says:

    As I read this I could only hope that Candace would appreciate the time, the effort, and the compliment that you are giving her, or should I say her character. I used to watch this show with you and I would see your cute little face light up each time. It’s nice to know that this show gave you a positive outlook rather than damaging a young girls fantasy. I forwarded this blog to Candace. I can only hope that she will read it and respectfully respond to you.

    Like

Join the conversation

