Busy Phillips is more available than you!

What is the deal with people always saying they are “too busy” or “soooo busy” that they cannot take part in the lives of others? Seriously, if you don’t want to hang out or even take the millisecond it takes to ‘like’ something, just tell me. I promise, I won’t be annoyed. I’d prefer the honesty than the dramatic stories you provide for not being around when really you were probably sitting at home, on your couch, watching American Idol.

Here’s the deal, the day consists of 24 hours. That doesn’t change from one day to the next, luckily, or else people who are too busy for the lives they currently have would literally fall off a cliff. The average person sleeps 6 to 8 hours a night so that leaves 16 to 18 hours to do your daily activities. If you work full-time than you have an 8 hour period to reduce from this time, however, even during working hours you can do personal things. I know, I know, we all like to portray ourselves as “perfect employees” but come on, you know you have your phone right there, sneaking onto Facebook or sending texts to random people. Checking your email, horoscope, or whatever other apps you have going on. It is something we all do, so chill. It’s perfectly normal. The only thing that is not normal is the constant lack of time so many people seem to deal with. I think this comes back to learning time management skills. I mean, I understand people have work, kids, school, personal commitments, appointments, and numerous other activities going on, but to say that you don’t have time is insane. That is essentially all we have. Every second we are breathing is time given to us to do with what we will. It is our choice how we use that time, what we make time for and what we choose to do and not to do. I also have a very busy schedule right now being a full-time student again, I have also had the full-time job with various commitments following but, I know how to manage my time. If something came up that was important to me, or important to someone close to me, I would rearrange things to be there for them. That is how life works.

Bottom line is, I am tired of hearing the excuse “I don’t have time”. It is exhausted beyond belief! I feel like making up lists to carry around with me of literature on time management so that when I am presented with an excuse maker I can hand it over. The downside here would be having the space in my purse to lug so many lists around, that’s how bad this excuse has become. Get a new line people! Please!

On a brighter note, I must get back to my studies now, as this has just taken up a chunk of my precious time 😉 Have a productive day bloggerville!

11 thoughts on “Busy Phillips is more available than you!

  1. Violet says:

    You know how I feel about this subject, hence I am sure you had me in mind when you were writing this. It has been and still is a huge annoyance to me when people talk about their time. People used to spend endless hours with each other and now they would rather be text. It’s ridiculous what our society has come to. No one has any time for others. Well EXCUSE me for living then, I thought we had plenty of time…lol

    Like

  2. jensine says:

    I don’t really have time to write this but as I enjoyed your post I will make it … just kidding am so with you on the “no time” line, if your tired, sick, need a night in, meeting someone else, don’t want to see me, etc tell me I’m a big girl and take it

    Like

  3. classicconfusion says:

    I agree. It’s a huge pet peeve of mine when people say silly things like “Sorry I have an essay to write, can’t come to your dinner!”
    I feel like slapping them and saying “You don’t have a job. You go to class 3 days a week. You have the entire day of Saturday to write this essay, and you can’t spare 2 hours for a dinner?”

    I cut these people out of my life long ago.

    Like

  4. The Guat says:

    Yeah I hear you on this one. I’ve had a couple of friends that were like this…now they’ve just become acquaintances. They give me the “I’m just soooooo busy” routine, not even a phone call. I have two kids under the age of three … c’mon now. Kind of sucks when you can’t see people you thought were your friends, but I just take note from the movie “He’s Just Not That Into You.” If he/she doesn’t call you they’re not interested…no exceptions. The advice applies to relationships and friendships too. 🙂 So I go off and do my own thing, they eventually come around, but by that time I’m the one that’s soooooooo busy 😉

    Like

  5. Robert Ortner says:

    I don’t imagine that anyone while lying on their deathbed would bemoan the fact that they didn’t spend more time at the office or whatever place or thing we use as our excuse for having no time. The bottom line is that your life is happening right now, most of us on this planet live in the past or the future. To quote John Lennon “Life is what happens when we’re busy making other plans.” What we may want to consider is if we keep using the excuse “I don’t have time” then maybe what we are really saying is I’m not interested or I don’t want to, etc… Examining what we really want and think could be a helpful addition to this topic and possibly learning to say no instead of I have no time could give us… more time!

    Like

    • Krystal Rose says:

      Agreed. Unfortunately, people are more afraid of hurting others feelings by declining invitations for things rather than telling the truth about what they need to do with their time instead. My issue is more about the people who lie about being too busy just to avoid being present in your life. Especially when you know they are lying, when you know it is just something to do with you and not their actual commitments that are causing the excuse to be given. I appreciate that people don’t intentionally want to hurt others but being distant because you’re avoiding someone hurts more than the truth, unfortunately.

      Like

Join the conversation

