Summer is here…oh the things I’ll do!

I am so stunned that it is almost June! I mean, didn’t the year just start? Summer is here, even more so for people like me in south Florida, but I am still trying to recall where January went. πŸ™‚

Now that it’s summertime and I am smack dab in the middle of palm trees and salty waves, snow cones and lemonade…I feel kind of different about my tropical hometown than I have in prior years. See, normally I am so irritated by the unbearable heat and the constant rain, (since this is also our hurricane season) that I don’t enjoy it much. I literally dread this time of year because, well, sweating is only fun in certain scenarios. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, this year I am excited about quite a few things. First, this coming weekend my mom and I are going on a mini road trip to Tampa for my grandparents 60th wedding anniversary! Impressive right?! We are having a family lunch on Saturday and I am really excited to see everyone. It’s been about a year since we were last up that way, so it’s long overdue. Also, my classes over summer term are shorter so that is smile worthy πŸ™‚ and I am still planning my wedding, which isn’t until November but the plans are happening now. We just chose our invitations and are in the process of ordering them and we also found an awesome bakery to do our cake. That means a tasting is in order, and who doesn’t love cake? Mmhmm!

I am also looking forward to all the things I can do now that it is summer. My parents pool is almost warm enough to go in; There are new shows on tv, including my beloved SYTYCD; I can tackle my stack of juicy summer reads, that keeps growing and growing whenever I see books for sale, lol; I get to spend more time with my honey since he is also on a shorter summer school schedule; Among other shiny and bright activities. The possibilities are endless. Most of all though, I think the greatest part of living in Florida, where summer is year long, is being able to wear flip flops. I mean, if I can’t be barefoot then I can at least wear my Reef’s and feel the air on my little piggies. Plus with all the rain, it’s easier to take them off and run through the puddles…which I do often since my apartment’s parking lot floods with even a slight rain. Hehe

So, stay salty my friends…

What are your sunny, splish-splash summer plans?? πŸ˜€

One thought on “Summer is here…oh the things I’ll do!

  1. Violet says:

    Stay Salty! LMAO and LOVE IT! It is such a pleasure to see you are going to embrace this years summer heat. As we know we also have air conditioning year round, so that helps. I hope you will take more time and swim in our pool, and by the way its warm enough now…so dive in! I too am looking forward to the upcoming events. Bring the Cake on!

    Like

Join the conversation

