Bruschetta à la Julie & Julia…

Ever since the movie Julie & Julia came out, I have been wanting to make the bruschetta that Julie makes in the beginning for her and her husband, Eric. If you’ve seen the film then you’ll know exactly what scene I am referring to, because he literally makes out with his bruschetta covered toast. 🙂 For those who haven’t seen it, I will summarize a bit…you see Eric and Julie sitting at their dining table eating dinner and they are talking about her possibly starting a blog about cooking. She is telling a story of how Julia Child’s Boeuf Bourguignon recipe fueled her love of cooking when she was a young girl and her mother made it for dinner to impress some people her father was having over. During her giddy little tale, which only Amy Adams can really portray, Eric literally inhales this delicious looking bruschetta on thick and toasty french bread. His enthusiasm over this food had my mouth watering immediately and I vowed to find the recipe and make it myself. So, that is exactly what I did…only it is now 3 years later and my printed recipe is nowhere to be found. Ha! Figures! However, due to the trusty worldwide web, I was able to just search for it again and my search produced tons of variations to the original by Susan Spungen, who is also the mastermind behind the other delightful dishes Amy/Julie “cooked”. So, here are some pictures of my bruschetta that I made the other night for my fiance and I…and let me just say, we were as enthusiastic as Eric while eating it. Not a crumb was left on our plates! Bon Appétit!

**Note: I fiddled around with the recipe a bit. Since I lost the one I printed years ago, it is hard to find the true original online anymore. So, given the variations offered, I took some things from each one that I felt would make it as close to the original as possible. I did exactly what Julie does in the film, with the addition of the sprinkling of shaved parmesan cheese on top and I also added a tiny bit of minced garlic to the tomato mixture. Also, once the bread has been fully cooked with the olive oil in the pan, you are supposed to take a whole garlic clove and rub it over the tops of the slices. This gives the whole thing an added boost of flavor, and it’s dynamite! 😀

8 thoughts on “Bruschetta à la Julie & Julia…

  1. nymuse88 says:

    Great job! It looks (or looked 😉 too good to eat!), I love that film and my mouth waters every time I watch it! I still want her cookbook! Glad you guys got to try it out!

    Like

    • Krystal Rose says:

      Thanks! I almost didn’t want to eat it for fear of disrupting all that prettyness, haha, but I just couldn’t resist! Her cookbook is wonderful. I made the boeuf bourgignon, as I mentioned in the post, but I also made the chocolate cake that Julie and Eric devour off the serving plate. It was literally that good! I want to someday tackle the duck recipe that she saved for her grand finale, because I love duck and because it looked absolutely delicious! 😀

      Like

    • Krystal Rose says:

      Thanks! Haha I read your post, it was great! 🙂 I definitely got a laugh out of it. Eric’s enthusiasm perked my interest in multiple scenes, the almond chocolate cake scene where they both devour it and shove it in each others mouths had me searching for the recipe too. I made it and can fully get behind their reaction, it was difficult to refrain from doing the same thing myself. 😀

      Like

Join the conversation

