Hobbies to Get Up For

Today’s topic: “List your top 5 hobbies and why you love them.” A while back when I was living in South Carolina, my friend took me to a Hobby Lobby and I almost lost my head like the kids in the edible room at the Wonka Factory. I mean, for a creative being the place is like candyland. There is a massive assortment of goodies to fuel one’s creative genius. However, it’s not the end all for the creative hobby gal to use, especially when some creative hobbies don’t need materials but instead utilize skill and an eye for magic. On that note, here are my top five hobbies and why they tickle my fancy:

I love all of my hobbies because they fall under the creative umbrella, and I am a sucker for anything I can put my own spin on. πŸ˜€ Being a writer has always been a passion of mine and it is what fuels my future career goals. I want to be published, and not just here on a blog where I get to click the little blue “publish” button at the end of every post. I want the real deal, the sweet satisfaction of seeing my name on the dust jacket of a freshly bound hardcover or in a byline for a magazine or newspaper article. Much like my love for writing, I also have a love for photography, not that I am claiming to be anything beyond a novice. Taking pictures allows me to express myself through a lens like I do via my computer keyboard and pen on paper when I write. It’s fun to snap just about anything in order to carry memories around with you in a visual way, which pretty much goes hand in hand with writing. I also love to create things like jewelry, art projects, designing things for my home, decorating, and etc. Creating is essential for me to breathe because without art life is rather boring. Like I said above, I like to put my own spin on things, make them more beautiful and unique. Reading is another essential thing for me, books are my oxygen. I not only wish to write them, I love to devour them by the stacks. In fact, I have a library card where they allow up to 50 loans at once! Not a good idea for someone who is addicted to books, and believe me, I borrow them by the bagful. Just yesterday I went and walked out with 23 different titles, all of which I will end up reading bit by bit, alternating between one another until they are all finished. I just can’t choose! lol Anyway, as for my final hobby, that would be cooking. While I don’t do it as often as I’d like, mainly because my kitchen is annoyingly small and has a horrible layout, I do love to make different foods. The other part of cooking I love is incorporating photography and writing/blogging into it, because letting others see what I’ve made is fun. Kind of like my yummy bruschetta post weeks ago πŸ˜‰

What are your hobbies?

2 thoughts on “Hobbies to Get Up For

  1. The Guat says:

    I like all your hobbies, especially the cooking, the photography and the writing. I think all writers have that I-want-to-see-my-name-on-a-dust-jacket feeling. I’ve done plenty of bylines and I’m looking for the dust jacket too. πŸ™‚

    Like

Join the conversation

