Language of Love

When I first started this series of posts I was a bit confused by this week’s question, “What is your love language?” Obviously, I know what love is, but I had no idea that there were particular languages of love and that everyone speaks a different one. I have since looked up this question on Google and found multiple websites on the subject, my favorite being the Love Language Challenge, which can be found here.

According to the site, there are five languages of love and everyone’s is different, some even have multiple languages, like I do, that run very close together in the scoring. On this website you can take a short quiz and then have your spouse take the quiz for him so that you both can figure out what your love language is. So, that is exactly what my fiance and I did and my love languages, according to this website, are…

1. Words of Affirmation (9)

“Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important–hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.”

I also had very high scores in two other areas that actually tied with one another for the number 2 spot, and they are…

2. Physical Touch (8)

“This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face–they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.”

3. Quality Time (8)

“In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel.”

My fiance’s scores were the same three, only in a different order than mine. Overall I think that the results are pretty accurate and it was interesting to learn about.

(**All of the quoted material in this post was taken directly from the love language website. Click here to find out what your love language is.)


One thought on “Language of Love

  1. Violet says:

    Words of Affirmation (10) for me. I will have to ask Chuck these questions later tonight. Quality Time (9) was my second. This was fun and very informative. Thanks


Join the conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s