Toys from my childhood!

Topic: Favorite childhood toys

This topic reminds me of that episode of Seinfeld in season 9, which happens to be my favorite episode of that entire series, where Kramer finds the Merv Griffin set in a dumpster. Anyway, that isn’t why I am reminded of the episode, it is because Jerry ends up dating this woman who has an old toy collection that is in mint condition and he is dying to play with it. So, he ends up drugging her so she will pass out and then he plays with her toys. George and Elaine also end up there later in the episode to play with these toys and the woman ends up being invited to Kramer’s revamped “Merv Griffin Show” in a very Jerry Springer-like fashion. Haha! Oh it’s hilarious, but I’m not doing the episode any justice so, if you haven’t seen it, definitely do! If you have, well, watch it again and laugh some more! 😀

magic nursery blonde print dressAnyway, back to the subject at hand. My favorite dolls growing up were these cute little things called Magic Nursery Dolls where you had to put their diaper packets in water and watch to see if your baby was a boy or a girl. Ha! If only it were that easy in real life right?! They also had hearts on their cheeks that were visible with a swipe of an ice cube. I loved my baby doll, especially because she had a little curl of hair in the middle of her otherwise bald, plastic, round head. Does anyone else remember these dolls? P1050198

90210 Dolls were the coolest! It was and still is one of my favorite shows and the dolls made it even better, although, watching reruns of it now makes me wonder why they would create dolls to be marketed to my age group at the time when the subject material in the show was high school and beyond. Pretty questionable motives I’d say but I loved them nevertheless, although I think that I dismembered the Brenda one…for obvious reasons I’m sure. 90210

Fashion Plates were a definite favorite of mine. I am not sure if that is what my kit was called, as it appears the name of this toy changed quite a bit over the years, but it is still the same concept. I felt like a great artist tracing all these fashionable ladies. It rocked! 6747589_std

Kid Sister and My Buddy dolls were all the rage at one point, although I am not even sure if I had one. However, I remember that annoying song to this day! Haha! Have a listen and view below of the ancient commercial and get it stuck in your head for over 20 years! 🙂

Then there were Pogs, which were quite stupid but everyone my age at the time thought it was the coolest thing. It wasn’t. Pogs_01

Did anyone have a PJ Sparkles Doll? You know, the one where her bow, earrings, and heart lit up? Well I did and I remember loving her but looking back I am baffled as to why. I mean, yeah she is cute and all but dolls today like Bratz and Laloopsy are so much cooler, right? I also was frustrated with her outfit and that big bow on her head because it couldn’t be removed. tumblr_mb6fiin5Se1r8knfuo1_400I also had a Puppy Surprise toy that came with a mommy and her baby pups. I remember pretending that they were real and I’d make them “woof” and run around. They were really the cutest little things.puppy+surprisePolly Pocket was another toy I had in my childhood, although, I am not sure why. Looking back on it, she seems awfully boring and way too small to be any sort of real entertainment for a child, but I guess that is why children get on so well with such toys. Simple minds are less cynical. Haha! 1163038953_d3f719c2f6

Another toy I had were Popples and I wish I still did! They were awesome! A fluffy, squishy ball one minute, a stuffed animal the next. Who wouldn’t love a Popple?! popples-600x932Yum Yums were also a favorite. They smelled so good and were cuddly too. What more could you ask for? 40875d65a8edd0fa04b8244140074ad5Other toys that I remember were Trolls, Tamagochi Pets, Electronic Dear Diary, Littlest Pet Shop Originals, Cupcake Dolls and Giga Pets. I had favorite stuffed animals with no special names, they were just special to me, and other toys, I am sure, that I just can’t remember. One other memory from childhood that I wanted to mention, although none of the items were toys, are the Lisa Frank school supplies. They were the “IT” thing to have and I miss them! The pictures were just so bright and pretty! My trapper keeper, folders, stickers, pencils, erasers, and etc. were the best things since sliced bread. 🙂 They made going to school a bit more fun and caused my friends and I to gather around at recess to trade our stuff with each other. You just weren’t cool without some Lisa Frank!tumblr_ljcg1hgKeV1qb4dkho1_500What were your favorite toys growing up??

4 thoughts on “Toys from my childhood!

  1. The Guat says:

    HA! I remember those fashion plate drawing tables and the Kid Sister My Buddy commercials! Ha! You took me back…way back. I wasn’t much for dolls, so my favorite would have been the Lite Brite. Dude…it was on with that toy.

    Like

  2. Violet says:

    Cabbage Patch dolls were real big. I bought you a black one so that you would not grow up with being prejudice….Hey I am a parent trying to make the world a better place, why not start with something big.

    Like

Join the conversation

