A book I can read over and over…

Topic: A book you can read over and over and not get sick of it. Why?

20130203-020334.jpgBeing a total bookworm, this question could have so many answers. I mean, I’ve read the Twilight Saga about fifteen times per book, Perks of Being a Wallflower about five times, Harry Potter was once for the first four but twice for the final three, and White Oleander comes in at two times, as well. HOWEVER, the book that I will never tire of would be Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen. Hands down it has been my favorite book since I was in the 7th grade, and I am serious! Consider me a Rory Gilmore, if you will. Haha! Well, at least her love for reading anyway, she was far more advanced in her studies than I have been in my life, but that’s quite alright. Anyway, when I was in 7th grade and living with my dad and stepmother in colinfirthConnecticut, I joined this mail order book club, sort of like Columbia House for books. That is when I first laid eyes upon Jane Austen’s literary masterpiece. The image above is my copy from back then, which is now about seventeen years old but in great shape since I’m completely OCD about my books. 😉 I also have a beautiful edition of Austen’s seven novels and a little pocket edition with gold lined pages. There are many reasons why I love this book, some of which are; the witty Mr. Bennet, Eliza’s strong nature and belief that she does not have to settle for just anyone, the language, and of course, Mr. Darcy. The movie adaptations have all been good, but the best one, in my opinion, is from A&E and stars Colin Firth, whom I adore. 🙂

My favorite quotes:66ebba5afc88844997a7c0f4e8a09643

Vanity and pride are different things, though the words are often used synonymously. A person may be proud without being vain. Pride relates more to our opinion of ourselves; vanity, to what we would have others think of us.”

“An unhappy alternative is before you, Elizabeth. From this day you must be a stranger to one of your parents. Your mother will never see you again if you do not marry Mr. Collins, and I will never see you again if you do.”

“My feelings in every respect forbid it. Can I speak plainer? Do not consider me now as an elegant female, intending to plague you, but as a rational creature, speaking the truth from her heart.

53757d52cd319c9aae64102a659344daWhat book could you read over and over again without tiring of it?

2 thoughts on “A book I can read over and over…

Join the conversation

