Dating: Reality vs Fiction

15DATING-articleLargeSometimes life kicks us when we’re down, or gives us a surprise jab to the face when we’re at the top of our game. No one is luckier than anyone else, we’re all just different. Life experiences are never going to be the same for any two people, even if they’re twins, in fact, twins are often polar opposites. Even with knowing all of that information, it still hurts like hell when things don’t go your way, when you feel that it is your fault that certain things keep happening. A friend of mine is in the throes of the dating world right now and it is kicking her square in the teeth. Every time she thinks that something will work out, a few dates later the brakes come to a screeching halt and she is left pondering “Is it me?” Well, the thing is, no it isn’t her, per se. It is any number of things. It could be her in some instances, it could be the guy, or it could just be the experience itself that causes things to go south. The guys might not be into her, or perhaps they just don’t know how to properly express themselves to her, or they are just douche bags who want to get laid. On the other hand, maybe she isn’t really interested in them and it shows, or maybe she is interested but they don’t see it at all, or maybe she just wants to get them into bed too. πŸ˜‰ The bottom line is, dating sucks until it doesn’t, although I am sure that means nothing whilst drowning your sorrows in a cheap pint of beer or a carton of ice cream that is reminiscent of a kitchen sink. We’ve all been there, and I have some seriously crazy stories under my belt, too. lets-date-iPhone-App-Review-590

See, before I met my husband and after I broke up with my ex before him, there was a period of time where I went on countless dates with horrible guys. Horrible for me, that is, well, some were truly horrible for everyone. Haha! I mean, one persons trash is another persons treasure in some cases, right? πŸ˜‰ So anyway, this dating experience I had definitely sucked but the thing is, looking back now, and even then I must admit, it was pretty amusing, too. In the midst of desperation to find someone who would fill that empty void, I agreed to go out with guys whom I would never even think of dating, let alone truly committing to. So, why was I so upset when it didn’t work out? Simple. Because it still stings to be rejected, even from someone you would reject yourself, perhaps even more so from those individuals. Nobody wants to be alone, however, not all people want to date you in order to fulfill some great love affair like you have always dreamed about. Some of them are just dating to date and we get caught up in their casual web. It seems like an endless road but it’s definitely not. There is a light at the end of all of those bumps, cracks, and hurdles…you just have to be patient. Ahh! I know, I know! Singles don’t ever want to hear that word, and I am sorry to have used it, but you know that I am right. Don’t you? πŸ˜€ Somewhere down the road when you find someone, come back to the memory of reading this and you’ll find your mouth doing what I hope it does. Smiling! (Get your mind out of the gutter you filthy mongrels! haha!) But until then, try to be a bit nicer to yourself. You deserve happiness and it will come your way…because you’re fabulous!

carrie-bradshaw-quote

Carrie Bradshaw – SATC

One thought on “Dating: Reality vs Fiction

  1. Violet says:

    Oh the dating game, yes it is a game and a game not played too well. If everyone could just stop playing games and were more genuine with each other you could probably have a lot of great dates, even if they do not work out. We want to experience and we want to wear our hearts on our sleeves. But unfortunately the men that we encounter do not see things our way. I will not say all men though. There are plenty of really great guys out there. maybe if we don’t look so hard they will walk through your front door….mine did.
    Great post, I hope your friend finds the special someone like you did.

    Like

Join the conversation

