Got Art?

It is day 22 of my “30 Day Blog Challenge.” I cannot believe how fast it is moving along. Anyway, today’s topic is: My favorite pieces of art and why

degas-edgar-three-dancers“Three Dancers” by Edgar Degas is one of my favorite pieces of art. It is so innocent and charming in it’s simplicity. The girls are all together but they could also be three separate pieces, with the white accents on the one making her very appealing to the eye. Almost as if she is the focus of the artists attention and should be ours too. I like that it seems to portray real life where the lead girl in the dance is the focus, while the background girls are more demure. The piece seems thoughtful and sweet and I am especially drawn to it because I find ballet to be so beautiful. I hope to have a large print of this in my home when I can afford a good one.

Vincent_van_Gogh_Starry_Night“Starry Night” by Vincent Van Gogh is another favorite of mine. I love the colors in this piece and how the sky is the central focus. Gazing at the stars can’t always be done, especially when living in a busy city where the lights don’t really allow the stars to come out. So, this painting allows me to stargaze in my home. I also love how he seemed to incorporate a daytime sky with an evening one. The colors speak of day, as The Cafe Terrace on the Place du Forum Arles at Night.jpgwell as the moon possibly doubling as a sun. It is almost as if he wanted to merge the two. I also have another print by Van Gogh called “Café Terrace at Night” which I love because it is so different from anywhere I have been. It makes me want to sit in one of those chairs on a cobbled street in France, sipping on a café au lait. It also incorporates the night sky similar to his “Starry Night” painting. It seems like a relaxing spot to just stop and take it all in.

head-of-a-young-woman-with-tousled-hair-leda.jpg!BlogThis drawing by Leonardo Da Vinci, which is called “Head of a Young Woman” caught my attention when the Drew Barrymore movie, Ever After, came out in 1998. The drawing in the film was altered to reflect Drew’s face, but there was a character named “Da Vinci” in the movie who drew it for her, which clearly was a nod to the artist’s original work. It is a beautiful drawing and the tie-in to Drew Barrymore, who is one of my favorite people, makes it even better, not that she was even alive at the time the original was drawn. Haha! However, I would proudly display the original or the altered version in my home. They are both so beautiful. ever-after-2-550x366Michelangelo-Sistine-Chapel-Adam-Finally, the painting on the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel, which I hope to see someday in person, has another one of my favorite pieces directly at it’s center. Above my couch I have the hands of God and Adam reaching toward each other that was given to me by one of my Atheist friends who had no idea what it was at the time, she just liked how it looked. Haha! Unfortunately for her, she couldn’t keep it when she suddenly had to move back in with her mother due to just not having the space for it. It is a beautiful print and I scored big time! It’s been a nice addition to my little gallery, otherwise known as my apartment. 😀 See my copy below…

20130214-183223.jpg

A home without art is no home at all. What pieces of art do you love?

Join the conversation

