John & Hank: The Vlog Brothers

Nerdfighters-nerdfighters-4365684-600-271Everyone knows that old adage, “Never judge a book by its cover” which seems to apply more to people looking beyond appearances in other people than it does to books, but in this case I am applying it to actual books. You see, a year ago I purchased a little book called “The Fault in Our Stars” by author John Green. At the time I had never heard of him or his “vlogging sensation” on YouTube or his other incredible works, all I cared about in that moment was the cover of that book. It drew me in like a moth to a flame, like a little kids hands to a birthday cake, like another car trying to caress my cars backside in rush hour taffic. That 9780525478812_Fault_250vibrant blue color and title clouds in all their sweet simplicity, and although it was simple it was still eye-catching. Perhaps it was that color. Who knows? What I do know is that had that cover not been so inviting to my eyes, I might have missed one of the best books I have ever read, like ever…so, remind me again why I shouldn’t judge a book by its cover? And if this is the case, why do books even bother working so hard to look so attractive on those shelves? I mean, everyone wants to be loved for what is on the inside, of course, but it would be a total lie if we said we didn’t like the attention our looks get us, right? I think books feel the same way, they just want a bit of gawking to be done in their general direction, and perhaps a little spine tingling action too. 😉

But anyway, after I read TFiOS I fell so hard for John Green’s writing that I immediately went out and bought everything he had ever put his mind and heart into. It has now been about three months since then and I have one novel left to sink into, although I am putting it off for fear of being Greenless until he finally gets around to putting out another book (impatiently I wait). In the meantime, however, I have begun stalking his website and his YouTube channel that he shares with his brother, Hank, where they are known as the “VlogBrothers.” So, below I have compiled a few of those videos of Hank and John, who are supremely nerdy as their website describes and quite humorous. Watch and be dazzled by their incredibly fast talking, humorous, nerd to the max persona’s.

“About VlogBrothers: Raising nerdy to the power of awesome.

tumblr_lhabt8uZAV1qbztsvo1_500

3 thoughts on “John & Hank: The Vlog Brothers

  1. graveyardsandgrasslands says:

    I especially love the ‘This isn’t Hogwarts’ video!

    I’ve not read ANY John Green books at all. He’s (of course) on my radar but I haven’t yet been tempted in. Perhaps after your glowing report I’ll give him a try!

    Like

    • Krystal says:

      I love the Hogwart’s one the best too! You should definitely give him a try…my suggestion would be to go with The Fault in Our Stars, Looking For Alaska, or Paper Towns first. A lot of people I’ve read on Goodreads said they started with his earlier stuff and hated it. Anyway, hope you like him too! 🙂

      Like

Join the conversation

