I’ll be there for you…

tumblr_mlo8l3dW1A1qjlxogo1_500Nine years ago today, the hit show, Friends, had their final episode. Can you believe it has been that long?! When I saw the post about it this morning on Twitter it shocked me, I guess time really does fly when you’re having fun. πŸ˜€

The two hour series finale left fans wanting more, even after ten years, which is pretty huge considering it was a sitcom. Friends was just one of those shows, and still is, crazily enough, that never got tiring. It was funny, sweet, and dealt with real issues that us twenty-somethings go through. Things like relationship troubles, the struggle to launch your career, and basically the stresses of everyday life, only it was bundled nicely with a glorious apartment in one of the best cities in the world and it had a laugh track and mood music. Sometimes I wish real life came with a laugh track and provided background music for epic moments, but I suppose that’s what the radio is for. *sigh*

563085_274271462704127_1419155109_nOverall, the show has just always had this real quality to it, in the sense that the characters feel so real to me. As if we could meet up at Central Perk, sit on the couch and just shoot the shit while sipping coffee out of gigantic mugs. I know that might sound nuts, but I doubt I am alone in this feeling, although I am unsure how many people would readily admit to such a thing. Haha! I mean, people have to love it an awful lot for it to still be in a permanent syndication nine years after it graced NBC’s weekly slot for ten years, right? Friends appeals to old fans and new fans alike and the relationships between Monica, Chandler, Rachel, Ross, Phoebe, and Joey have not only been felt on screen but have also become kind of like friends to us, the viewers, which is pretty awesome.375050_10151447923914576_1233729040_nFrom the very first episode, “The One Where Monica Gets a Roommate,” we were instantly drawn into this world of a twenty-something group of friends, all with their friends05aown set of problems to deal with. It proved that even with the chaos of dating and finding your career and having children or getting divorced, your friends are always there for you, no matter what. The six characters were so real, they literally jumped off the screen and felt as if they were real people we could relate to. From having yfriends_5514_1our heart broken to finding love in someone you never would have realized you wanted, there was something to be taken away from this show by everyone, and that includes guys too. Friends didn’t play strictly to a female or male dynamic, it was balanced for both, which is probably part of the reason why it was so successful for its time. I mean, even shows like Beverly Hills 90210 had the male presence, in abundance, on screen but it felt more like a drool fest for the ladies than it did in the sense that guys could watch it without feeling feminine. Not that many guys would admit to being fans of Friends either, although I don’t know why, but the bottom line is, they could without losing their masculinity. πŸ˜‰AsOeeMFCEAAK_hsI think that I have grown more in love with these characters since becoming a twenty-something myself, especially now when I watch the later seasons where the characters began making life choices that were much larger like having children, getting married, or buying a home. Considering the age that I began watching the show and accounting for the 19 years now that it has been beloved by fans, like myself, around the globe, it is safe to say that Friends is truly timeless. The clothes might be outdated and the lifestyles might be a bit far fetched at times, but mainly, it is as relevant to today’s twenty and thirty-somethings as it was in the 90’s and early 2,000’s and I foresee it being this way for many years still to come. Friends is iconic and there is no doubt as to why it is one of the most successful comedy shows in television history.

6 thoughts on “I’ll be there for you…

  1. Violet says:

    Oh come on Peter then you must heve never watched Seinfeld. Seinfeld is timeless and lifelong laughter. I will also add Modern Family to this mix. I am not dissing Friends, as it is a funny show and it became a living room event for many but if you want to really, really laugh out loud…watch Seinfeld. I will add one more, Curb Your Enthusiasm. Great freaking funny show.

    Like

    • Krystal says:

      Those are really great shows too…however I think Friends has more than proven that they can stand tall next to any sitcom by now. 10 seasons isn’t a small feat in the sitcom genre.

      Like

  2. nymuse88 says:

    F.R.I.E.N.D.S is my happy place. I’ve just started re-watching them a few weeks ago (I have the full series on DVD and def. treasure them.) and I’m on season 10. I’ve watched them all a million times and still love them.

    Like

    • Krystal says:

      It’s my happy place too πŸ™‚ and I also have the series on DVD. They’re the best DVDs I own. Just recently got my husband to watch them from season 1-10 and he’s hooked now too.

      Like

Join the conversation

