The incredible, edible…coffee bean!

This morning I got my usual email from Care2.com, and while the titles usually grab my attention for some reason or another, the one I saw today made me smile and think of my best friend, Ida…otherwise known as my little coffee addict. So, I knew right away that I had to share the article and impart its wisdom upon you, my readers, because in the days of Keurig popping, Starbucks stopping, at-home pot brews, and Dunkin Donuts drive-thru’s, many of you are most likely jonesing for the stuff on a daily basis too. Well, this article brought some new insight into the world of java that I had not heard before, and hopefully you’ll find some usefulness in it too.gty_smiley_coffee_jt_120929_wblog6 Reasons Coffee Isn’t So Bad After All

The link to the original post, written by Kristina Chew at Care2, can be found here. Below is a list of benefits you can get from drinking coffee (along with my commentary…and me calling bullshit on some of these “benefits”). If you’re interested enough to go read the article (where she input the research facts, I encourage you to do so…AND while you’re over there, maybe you’ll take a look around and learn some new things to benefit yourself and the planet. *hint, hint*)

1. Coffee improves muscle tone. Well, who wouldn’t like this idea? Am I right or am I right? Apparently the study to back this up was done on some mice, which doesn’t get me too excited for the animals but I do hope that the benefits to us humans is true but it is also supposed to be for the older crowd so I guess us young people will have to spend a few more years drinking coffee to see these positive effects. 😀

2. Coffee, in moderate amounts, appears to be associated with a lowered risk for basal cell carcinoma, a common skin cancer. Drinking coffee might bring a lower risk of skin cancer?! Of course that won’t stop my liberal use of sunblock BUT I’m definitely not opposed to this idea. Fill up my mug!

3. Coffee reduces the risk of some other cancers: Reducing the risk of prostate, breast, endometrial, and colon cancer are pretty sweet benefits to java but the downside to this one is that the risk for both urinary tract and lung cancer could be increased due to coffee consumption. Boo hiss!

4. Coffee protects your heart. When consumed IN MODERATION, folks! So chill your coffee bean itchy fingers…sip that cup and savor it.

5. Coffee may actually contribute to your overall fluid intake. What, What, WHAT?! I’ve always heard that caffeine dehydrates the body so how can this be? I’m not buying it!

6. Coffee decreases the risk of death. Um, does anyone else find this one a bit problematic given that we’re all going to die at some point? Again I call bullshit!  happy-3523-1

5 Smells That Make You Kinder, Happier, Nicer

There were some ups and downs to the prior list…sorry about that you guys BUT now I am moving in a slightly different direction with a list that caught my eye AND it also mentions coffee which ties them together nicely (at least I think it does). Click here for the full article, again by Kristina Chew. Below are five different scents that are shown to make you happier and an overall kinder person toward others. Interesting concept right? Check them out and feel free to share your favorite “happy-inducing” scents in the comments!

1. Freshly baked bread. All I can say is…YUM!

2. Peppermint. Christmas is my absolute favorite holiday and every time I smell peppermint it brings the sounds of Santa’s sleigh bells to my ears. It is bright and clean, like that beautiful layer of freshly fallen snow. Yum!

3. Spiced apples. Of course, what could be more traditional than this? Mom’s apple pie sitting in a window, ripe to be stolen. Fresh apples smell great too but when you throw some cinnamon on an apple and bake it up, magic seems to burst from the seams.

4. Lavender. This one doesn’t surprise me because it is used in conjunction with relaxation but I personally hate it. It gives me an instant headache.

5. Coffee. Was there ever any doubt? Who doesn’t love walking into a coffee shop and smelling that fresh aroma? Whether you fancy espressos, lattes, cappuccinos, macchiatos (which are my favorite), or you’re just a true blue fan of the traditional cup o’ joe…the smells are universal and that main ingredient is the same.

For more interesting coffee information check out the article found here and get to brewing! 😀

5 thoughts on “The incredible, edible…coffee bean!

  1. The Guat says:

    I’m more of a tea drinker, but I’m all for trying something that tones up my muscles. Happy inducing scent? Has to be freshly baked cookies…chocolate chip of course or anything chocolate related 🙂

    Like

Join the conversation

