All about that foodie life

For a long time I have considered myself a foodie, however it has recently come to my attention that a lot of people find this term to be quite arrogant. This is very confusing given that the dictionary defines it as, “a person who enjoys and cares about food very much.” What is so terrible about that? Doesn’t that definition describe everyone, or are some people food haters? In my world of good eats and sweet treats, food is both nourishment that my body needs as well as being something for me to enjoy, because eating doesn’t have to be boring. If it was, no one would go to culinary school and fall in love with cooking. No one would review restaurants for those of us who want to know how a place is before trying it out. There wouldn’t be any cookbooks or recipes anywhere, food blogs would cease to exist, and grocery stores wouldn’t have spices and other seasonings for sale. Doesn’t that all sound incredibly bland? It does to me and that is why I love cooking and eating out because I get to try new things all the time. It’s a joy to savor exciting flavor combinations and fall in love with my meal as it delights my taste buds. For me, this is something that is completely natural and I bet that even those folks who think the word “foodie” is arrogant find pleasure in the things they munch on. If they don’t, well then that’s just a sad situation and I feel sorry for them. Perhaps they need a foodie friend like me to show them a whole new world. (Are you singing the song from Aladdin now too? Oh, it’s just me then…er, nevermind.)

So anyway, I was thinking about this foodie thing and I realized that it comes with a few unavoidable characteristics that I wanted to share with you all…

You develop an obsession with all things edible. It doesn’t need to be an unhealthy obsession or anything, I am not saying we are all overdosing on food. No, it is more of an intense interest in all things food. How it’s made, how it smells, what it looks like, what it tastes like, etc. Some people will scoff at you for being a self-proclaimed “Foodie” and they will also immediately think you’re a snob. In some cases yes, we are snobs, but it is better to sniff out yummy treats with our noses in the air. Haha! Those same people secretly wish that they were Foodie’s but they are too afraid to ditch their preconceived notions about it in order to commit to the lifestyle. You notice every food smell and want to seek out its origin, even if that means you were driving somewhere and caught a whiff of something tasty and are now halfway to another county because you NEED that chewable delight. I mean, your friends and/or family won’t mind if you’re a little late right? You feel giddy at the chance to try new and exciting foods. Especially in the company of other foodie’s. You take pictures of everything you eat, usually at the annoyance and rude glares from people at other tables, but the folks at your table totally get it. They’re Foodie’s too, after all, and they’re probably doing the same thing. You feel as if food should be delicious, even when it’s healthy, because what is the point of living if you cannot enjoy yourself as much as possible?

I am definitely a Foodie, although I am not as snobby about it as some are. I just really love cooking and eating delicious food and so far this year I’ve had the pleasure of eating lots of yummy things. For Christmas I also received three new cookbooks to add to my growing collection and I am thrilled. (See image below of my new stash) I’ve already made one recipe from The Mac & Cheese Cookbook (I know, my mouth starts to water at the mere mention of it too) and it was AMAZING! Apparently there is an entire restaurant in California called Homeroom and all they serve is various types of Mac & Cheese. How cool is that?! They’ve now become so popular that they decided to create a cookbook with their delectable recipes in it and voila! A fan from across the country was born! 😀

2015-01-01-00-55-14-e1422503988825

So, as 2015 progresses I hope to further develop my cooking skills and I’m excited to eat awesome food. My goal is to breathe new life into this blog of mine, that’s been neglected for far too long, and get back in the kitchen. I’ll be posting recipes that I try out and restaurants I dine in…and you know there will be pictures. Maybe I’ll even snap some shots of those disgruntled diners around me for good fun as well.

Stay hungry my friends!

Join the conversation

