Orange is the New Black…or should I say, AWESOME?!

There’s this little show on Netflix called Orange is the New Black, ever heard of it? OF COURSE YOU HAVE! It’s only one of the most popular shows around right now. I mean, I can’t sign on to Facebook, Twitter, or pretty much any other social media outlet without seeing a stream of posts about the addictive sophomore season that hit Netflix last week. It is the show that the people in your office are talking about at the water cooler coffee machine. The show that has such kick ass characters that when you hear those people chatting away about Piper, Alex, Red, or someone nicknamed “Crazy Eyes” you immediately think it’s gossip and you don’t know whether to rise above it or dig in with a spoon and eat it up. Well, I recommend the latter, because it is damn delicious!orange-is-the-new-black-52e7a57275fd3

Having been a Netflix subscriber for many years now, but only being on their DVD mail program, I haven’t truly gotten involved in the streaming side of things. It wasn’t until my husband and I got our Xbox that we decided to change our plan from the mail version to just solely having the streaming one. That is when I discovered this show and I added it to my queue. The problem was, life swept me away and thus my attention to Netflix’s hit new show was put aside. In the meantime, I got my husband sucked into the 24 series, which is one of my favorite shows and he had never seen it, so clearly that had to be rectified. I also spent some time catching up on other shows that I had missed along the way, further putting off OITNB. It wasn’t until last weekend, while sitting in my apartment, alone and bored, that I remembered about this show being in my queue…it also helped greatly that half of my social media connections were talking nonstop about how season 2 was just put up and that they were all chomping at the bit to blow through the 13 episodes as fast as possible. So, obviously I checked it out. I got all cozy on my couch and put on the first season, episode one of thirteen, expecting to like it and just watch it here and there as I could to get caught up with my friends. Yeah right! Instead I spent the entire night binge watching this crazy bad-ass show and before I knew it the sun had come up and I was done with the first season, already salivating for the next one that was only a click away in my queue. It is just that good.1309Cover-EW-OITNB_612x380

This show is a diamond in the rough. The rough being the barren land of summer television programming that has people watching reruns of old favorites more than getting hooked on anything new and/or exciting. Netflix has secured a spot for themselves with the big boys and they are coming at every other show with their guns blazing. OITNB is brought to us from Jenji Kohan, the creator of Weeds, which is clearly why it is such a brilliant program, and it is based on a memoir of the same name by Piper Kerman. So, this prison set drama/comedy/lesbian-loveathon is something the author once lived through and is now sharing with us…and her experience is fucking awesome sauce! Orange is the best thing to hit my television screen in years, and now that I am about to finish season 2, I find myself wishing I could go back to the beginning, like any of you who haven’t seen it yet, and restart the magic that is Piper’s journey in prison. The cast is incredible with Taylor Schilling as the lead role of Piper, Laura Prepon (who I LOVE) playing her ex-girlfriend, Alex, Natasha Lyonne (who I also adore), Jason Biggs (minus his penis being in a pie), Taryn Manning, and many others who are as fleshed out as you’d want any essential characters to be. Each person carries their own weight and leaves a lasting impression, so, even though the “star” would be Schilling in the lead role, she is hardly the only character you’ll notice or find yourself rooting for (or against).

0897aa740c6bdd5f_orange-is-the.xxxlargeIf you haven’t seen Orange yet, do yourself a favor and jump on the bandwagon. And for those of you already on it, let’s hear what your thoughts are in the comments below. I know that I have some OITNB lovers out there! 😀

3 thoughts on “Orange is the New Black…or should I say, AWESOME?!

  1. The Guat says:

    Duuuuuuuuuude. This is a good show. I’m almost done with season 2 and although Piper burns me out sometimes with her relationship with Alex (she needs to grow a backbone there) it’s pretty addictive as is House of Cards. Dude that one is intense! Kevin Spacey is awesome and Netflix is definitely raising that bar.

    Like

    • Krystal says:

      I totally agree with you about Piper and Alex…that whole thing is crazy BUT the end of season 2 pleased me big time! I won’t get too into here since some people may not have seen it (like my mom who is just starting season 1 and reads my blog). 😀 Anyway, I am watching Mad Men now but will definitely get into House of Cards soon, I love Kevin Spacey! I’m hoping Netflix keeps bringing the heat with these kick ass shows!

      Like

Join the conversation

