Book Review: The Wedding Bees

18090094Author: Sarah-Kate Lynch

Book Title: The Wedding Bees

Genre: Fiction – Chick-Lit

Type: Stand Alone

Format: Paperback, 368 Pages

Publication Date: January 28, 2014

Summary: Sugar Wallace did not believe in love at first sight, but her bees did. . . .

Every spring Sugar Wallace coaxes her sleepy honeybee queen—presently the sixth in a long line of Queen Elizabeth’s—out of the hive and lets her crawl around a treasured old map. Wherever the queen stops is their next destination, and this year it’s New York City.

Sugar sets up her honeybees on the balcony of an East Village walk-up and then––as she’s done everywhere since leaving South Carolina––she gets to know her neighbors. She is, after all, a former debutante who believes that manners make the world a better place even if they seem currently lacking in the big city. Plus, she has a knack for helping people. There’s Ruby with her scrapbook of wedding announcements; single mom Lola; reclusive chef Nate; and George, a courtly ex-doorman. They may not know what to make of her bees and her politeness, but they can’t deny the magic in her honey. And then there’s Theo, a delightfully kind Scotsman who crosses Sugar’s path as soon as she gets into town and is quickly besotted. But love is not on the menu for Sugar. She likes the strong independent woman she’s become since leaving the South and there’s nothing a charmer like Theo can do to change her mind . . . only her bees can do that.

The Wedding Bees is a novel about finding sweetness where you least expect it and learning to love your way home. (summary from Goodreads)


My Thoughts: First, let me just say that I am a total sucker for anything that involves weddings – be it television shows like Say Yes to the Dress or other books like the Bride Quartet by Nora Roberts (which had me in a happy fantasizing-that-this-is-my-life daze the entire time I read them). Weddings are just so exciting, even considering that my own consisted of a courthouse employee, my husband, and myself…but that’s exactly what we had in mind. (The party came later though, so don’t worry. I got my cake and ate it too.) But I digress. While perusing the overcrowded shelves at the library, my eyes were instantly drawn to The Wedding Bees. I’m not sure if it was the word ‘wedding’ on the binding that sucked me in or if it was the cheerful yellow cover (that just so happens to be my favorite color), but what I do know is that I instantly grabbed it and put it into my basket without even reading what it was about. That is how serious I am about wedding stuff, plus if I ended up hating it, at least it was free right? 😉

Luckily this novel ended up being quite good, even given the fact that it falls into the always predictable “chick-lit” category that is generally filled with insanely sweet prose and perfectly wrapped up endings. The characters were adorable, even the hive of bees charmed me. Sugar is a beekeeper with a sunny disposition and southern charm. She travels to a new place every year to set up shop with her hive and sell her homemade honey, candles, lip balms, and etc. while changing peoples lives. This is her business, her passion – something she fell in love with thanks to her grandfather who always taught her to trust in herself and in her Queen. The relationship between Sugar and her bees was really interesting because it was really intimate. The author took these insects to another level and gave them a heartbeat. Sugar’s heartbeat, and together they were a force that was almost magical and were really vital to the growth of the characters.

The chapters are written from the perspective of each character, which can be annoying and hard to follow sometimes, but I think it worked here. After finishing this easy read it left me wanting a slice of honey cake and to attend a dinner party on a rooftop terrace in the city that never sleeps. It was as sweet as Sugar herself and I recommend it to anyone else who, like me, loves a good chick-lit book now and then.

Rating:5-flowers

Quotable Moments: “For a moment she thought she felt her bees vibrate in a different rhythm against her chest, their tiny wings beating at twice the normal speed, agitating the air in the cooler at a crazy manic pace, but almost by the time she had noticed it they were back to their regular pattern again.”

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this book, weddings, bees, etc. in the comments section below

Join the conversation

