Book Review: The Retribution of Mara Dyer

15768409Author: Michelle Hodkin

Book Title: The Retribution of Mara Dyer

Genre: Young Adult Fiction/Paranormal

Type: Series – Book #3

Format: Hardcover, 470 Pages

Publishing Date: November 4, 2014

Summary: Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told. There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead. She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance. She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story. Retribution has arrived. [summary from Goodreads]


My Thoughts: I was super excited for this book to come out, especially after the cliffhanger at the end of book two AND Michelle Hodkin making fans wait two years for this installment! Like the prior two books, this one was also a twisted ball of creepy chaos. Several scenes were absolutely brutal, leaving a hefty blood trail as the pages went on, and it was such a high adrenaline ride through a tunnel full of crazy nightmares. The story definitely had some flaws but I didn’t have any time to hone in on them as I devoured page after page, eager to know how the series would wrap up.

Obviously my favorite character is Mara, this being a series told from her perspective and all, so I’ll start with her. I think that my favorite thing about her is that she is so profoundly flawed and complex. She is a total badass. I loved her just as much as I hated her, with varying shades of gray in between. “The villain is the hero of her own story.” One of the things I noticed most about her in this final book is that she is completely unapologetic for who she is now. She no longer sees the darkness within her as a fault and she is sick of shying away from everything because of it. Mara is equal parts good and evil, a double edged sword, and she’s constantly battling herself, along with the rest of the world, and it is one of those rare stories where flaws are just as endearing as a persons attributes are. She has grown so much as a character over this series and it was nice to see her owning who she is and facing her fears head on, even if it is with a frightening lack of emotion.

Jamie was my other favorite character because he brought witty banter and unabashed honesty to the story. I also loved Noah, for obvious reasons if you’ve read (and enjoyed) the series, and although he didn’t have as large a part in this book, I didn’t really miss him as much as I thought I would. I felt as if this finale was grittier than the previous two books and it was exactly what I had hoped for, especially the brilliant little twist at the very end. Good job, Michelle.

Overall, without saying too much, I felt very satisfied with this final book and all of my main questions were answered. There wasn’t anything else that I needed from this series and I think that Hodkin produced a really solid trilogy here. Who would have thought that a super creepy story could be so light and funny at the same time? It truly was a perfect combination.

Rating:5-flowers

Quotable Moments:

“I looked behind me and scanned the room for a camera. Stella followed my gaze, then stopped and pointed at a tiny little reflective globe suspended from the ceiling, in the far right corner of the room. I stared at it for a moment, then raised my hand and gave it the finger. ‘I thought you were going to give it the District Twelve salute,’ Jamie said.”  

“The freaks shall inherit the earth.”

“This is a love story. Twisted and messy. Flawed and screwed up. But it’s ours. It’s us. I don’t know how our story will end, but I know how it will start. I pick up my pen and begin to write.”

tumblr_m9qzsow28G1rdmr3lo2_1280

Join the conversation

