Friday I’m in love with food #3

Hey guys and gals, welcome to my new series where I highlight my weekly dinners with my mom. We frequent the same places often and try new places when we can, but we always try new things wherever we go. So enjoy the photos and reviews I offer here…and we will continue to enjoy the good eats! 😉


[Picture taken from Red Lobster's Facebook page]

[Picture taken from Red Lobster’s Facebook page]

Restaurant: Red Lobster

Location: Coral Springs, Florida

Price Range: Moderate to expensive

Food Type: Seafood, Steaks, Chicken

 

 


OUR MENU

Drinks
Lobster Punch – Malibu Red, pineapple juice, mango passion fruit, topped with Myers’ dark rum)

Mango Mai Tai – Malibu mango rum with tropical juices and sweet grenadine)

Appetizer
Lobster & Crab Stuffed Mushrooms – Baked mushrooms with seafood stuffing and Monterey Jack cheese. $8.99

Entrees
Lobster Scampi Linguini – Maine lobster meat over linguini in a white wine and garlic sauce. $22.49


REVIEW

I’m pretty sure that it is a safe bet that everyone reading this has eaten at a Red Lobster, and if you haven’t, well, you’re not really missing much. The thing about this restaurant chain that makes it so desirable to so many people is how inexpensive it can be to eat seafood dishes with shrimp and lobster in them. It is moderately priced for the most part but quite a few of their meals are pricey but given the amount of food they give you, I think that it’s a fair value. This place has been around for years and they clearly know how to draw in business; we waited for an hour and a half to be seated, which is insane. Our waitress was very sweet and we had a nice booth near the bar that felt pretty secluded. But enough about that, let’s get to the food itself. My mom and I are not big drinkers, in fact we only drink on Friday nights when we go out to together and by drink I mean we have one each. It’s more about trying new things and enjoying a cocktail than anything else. Plus it’s more fun than drinking a soda or iced tea right? But I digress. The drinks were really yummy. They were perfectly fruity (I am a sucker for anything with Malibu rum in it and lately I’ve been OBSESSED with mango so now you know which of the two drinks I had. Haha!)

As for the food, first we had the famous cheddar bay biscuits, which never disappoint, and we tried the lobster and crab stuffed mushrooms. They were alright but were smothered in cheese and what tasted like a butter sauce that was pretty overwhelming. The mushroom flavor was completely lacking here due to this and I had absolutely no idea that there was any seafood in the stuffing either. If we had wanted a bowl of butter topped cheese, we could have gone somewhere with Greek food and ordered saganaki, which is must tastier. Anyway, the caesar salad wasn’t much better, although it thankfully didn’t have any butter on it. For the most part it was really wet with too much dressing (tasted like store bought) and it was bland. The croutons they use were loaded with seasoning, almost to the point of being overboard in flavor, and it was covered in thin strips of parmesan cheese (I removed half of it prior to taking the picture so you can see how much is still on it!)

For dinner we both had the same thing, the lobster scampi over linguini, and for the most part it was pretty good. There was a TON of lobster on top and more as I moved the pasta around. The cook on both the lobster and the pasta were done well; the lobster was tender while the noodles were al dente, but this is hardly difficult to accomplish. The issue here was that gain there was an enormous amount of butter on everything, which was way beyond the normal amount that scampi usually has. I mean, I am definitely a fan of butter and one of my favorite Julia Child (although Paul said it in the film) quotes is, “You are the butter to my bread and the breath to my life.” It’s delicious and usually adds such greatness to meals, but Red Lobster sort of scared me with their liberal use of the ingredient and their lack of spices and/or garlic used in these dishes that were crying out for flavor. I have to question whether this was and effort to mask the cooking skills and other ingredients used in each dish or their cooks are just not bold enough to cook without excess butter. Perhaps people just like eating butter with a side of something else though but the bottom line is that my mom and I will most likely not return to Red Lobster anytime in the near future. The food was mediocre and after having to wait such a long time for a table, it was such a bummer. On the upside though, we’re having GORGEOUS weather here in South Florida. I love when it gets cooler here as I am a New Englander at heart, so I am in my glory right now! 🙂 I hope you all had a great Friday and have an even bUtter weekend ahead. Ha!

img_3084

Join the conversation

