The Brunch Pack!

all-you-need-is-love-and-brunch-e1425592873588I’ve been seriously slacking off where my blogs are concerned. Midterms came up on me like a plane barreling down a runway and now it’s already spring break. I can’t even believe how quickly this year is already flying by but I guess that old adage is true, “time flies when you’re having fun.” So, it comes as no surprise that it completely escaped my attention that I failed to post about an amazing brunch I had with my parents and husband the day after Valentine’s Day, so let me get to it.

As I’ve mentioned previously, my mom works for a meat company that sells to a good amount of the fine dining restaurants in our area, as well as many further north in our state. About a month before Valentine’s Day, my husband and I were trying to decide where we wanted to go have dinner since this would be his first one off of work since we’ve been together. Well, because we love doing double date stuff with my parents (because they’re totally rad people), we decided to ask them if they’d like to join us. My mom typically hates going out on V Day because everywhere you go is crowded and restaurants tend to have a pre fixe menu that’s upcharged due to the holiday. We don’t mind paying for quality food and service but these menus are generally not pleasing to everyone so instead we opted to do a brunch the day after. The restaurant we chose is called Cafe Maxx and it is located in Pompano Beach, Florida. (You can visit their website here if you’d like.) My mom made our reservation when she took their weekly meat order and we just waited for the day to arrive. After looking over the brunch menu, I was really excited to go. I am a sucker for breakfast out and we all love this restaurant so much that it was guaranteed to be awesome. They definitely didn’t disappoint either.

The day was sunny and blissfully cool in the low 70’s, we sat by a window and sipped on mimosas and bloody Mary’s. My mom and I both ordered the same thing: an open-faced BLT that had a hard boiled duck egg, sliced beefsteak tomatoes, crisp applewood smoked bacon, romaine lettuce, crumbled blue cheese, a balsamic syrup drizzle, and pickled onions on two slices of thick toast. It is usually served with french fries but we opted to get their three potato home fries instead that uses sweet, yukon gold, and new potatoes and let me tell you, the addition of sweet potatoes in hash browns nearly knocked me off my cozy booth seat! Talk about major yummage going on. My stepdad created his own custom breakfast as he likes the simple things in the morning so he had eggs, bacon, and an english muffin. My husband ordered a cheeseburger (hey, he wants what he wants) and a coke. After we all cleared our plates, we decided to get two desserts to share and cappuccinos complete with rock crystal sugar swizzle sticks. We chose a vanilla bean creme brûlée served in an almond lace cup with berries and a rocky road bread pudding served with whipped cream and berries. Everything was incredibly delicious and we look forward to going back again. If you’re ever in South Florida, be sure to check out Cafe Maxx for a special meal. You won’t regret it.

10422328_10153587234733265_8920909864022150330_n

[Photo Credit for top image only – “All you need is love and brunch” goes to: http://www.thisismeagankerr.com ]

Join the conversation

