Ending the weekend on a sweet note

img_3633This past week my hubby and I have been on a sort of staycation. It was spring break for me and he scheduled his first week long vacation from work at the same time. We originally wanted to go on a trip to either the theme parks (Disney or Universal Studios) or to Lakeland where we are thinking of moving next year. Instead we opted to stay home, relax, and basically just let things happen as the week went on without any set plans. It has been a great week and I’m really glad we were able to have this time together. We read a lot of books, spent lazy afternoons at Barnes & Noble people watching, ate some yummy meals, and did some things around our apartment that needed to be done. Nothing was rushed and it felt so good.

This weekend was actually the busiest that we’ve been all week. Friday night I had my usual dinner out with my mom. We went to Carrabba’s and I completely forgot to take any pictures for my weekly Friday posts. I’ll be on top of that this coming week, I promise. Hehe! My meal was delicious, which is really no surprise given the place. Carrabba’s is generally pretty consistent with what they offer. I had the prosciutto wrapped pork with potatoes and a glass of  their AMAZING blackberry sangria. Seriously, I had a love affair going on with that drink and I was so sad when my glass was empty. Yum! Last night Matt and I went out on a double date with our friends, Megan & Stephan and we had such a great time. We haven’t seen them in a while but img_3634that never seems to matter. Whenever we get together it is like no time has passed, which could be due to us being connected on social media too but conversations literally pick right back up without missing a beat. Again, I didn’t take any pictures of our food but that’s okay. We were just too busy chatting and laughing, emphasis on the latter. To start we shared baked brie served with fruit, bread, and a whole roast garlic bulb that Stephan was all about. For dinner I had pork again (I may be a bit obsessed with the other white meat) and it was stuffed with spinach and blue cheese. It was served with potatoes that were topped with an apple chutney and a side of roasted butternut squash. To drink I had a mango tango cocktail that had a bunch of yummy things in it but I can’t remember what they were. What I do know is that it was delish! The rest of my party had New York strip steaks with veggies and fries and for dessert they had peach cobbler, which Stephan was so excited about that he sang “peach cobbler” in an opera voice. It was hilarious, I assure you! Matt and I shared the chocolate lava cake, to which he leaned in to me and said mine is much better…aww. LOL

At the end of our wonderfully relaxing and fun-filled week I found myself in the mood for pancakes this morning. This is truly shocking considering I actually dislike pancakes but for some reason I occasionally crave them. Luckily, because my husband loves them so much and because he is obsessed with chocolate, we had both mix and Tollhouse morsels in the pantry. I even cut up a banana and cooked the slices in a skillet with some syrup, cinnamon sugar blend, and a tiny pat of butter until they were nice and caramelized. Now I realize that this may not be the healthiest of meals but I just don’t care. The pleasure of savoring each and every bite and being our lazy Sunday before getting back to the grind of life far exceeded any need to stress over calories. So, here are some pictures of all this buttery, chocolatey, yummlicious goodness…eat your hearts out!

img_3631
I hope you all had a great week/end too…what sorts of fun things did you do? Share in the comments below and cheers to another wonderful week ahead!

Join the conversation

