The bonds of friendship

11046717_10153652189853265_8678338549735158353_nSomeone once said that time flies while you’re having fun and you know what? They were absolutely correct. It is the middle of March 2015 and the end of 2014 slipped by unnoticed as if it just didn’t want to interrupt the awesomeness that is life. For many, the start of a new year is all about resolutions that will hopefully make them better than they were in previous years, but I have stopped believing in such things. The idea that a single day could hold that much power over me seems utterly ridiculous and I much prefer the freedom of bettering myself whenever I damn well please. So, that is exactly how I live my life. I am 31 years young, I am married to my nerd counterpart, we live in a too-small apartment with our rabbit, Cannoli in South Florida, I am a full time student majoring in English (NO, not for teaching!) at Florida Atlantic University (GO OWLS! HOOT HOOT!), I have amazing friends and even more amazing parents, and I am slowly (but surely) finding my perfect balance, both mentally and physically. 😉

Whenever I take a moment to reflect on my life, I realize that things are pretty great. Although I may not have everything I want yet, I can’t deny that the things I do have are pretty fantastic too and I am grateful for it all. Recently I reconnected with some of my old friends and it has been such an eye-opening experience for me. Not only has it shown me how much we’ve all grown up and changed in our own ways, but it has also made me appreciate them more because they have reminded me what friendship is actually about. The quality time I’ve spent with them so far this year has been truly wonderful, which brings me to the point of my post.

My friend Megan and I have been talking quite a bit lately after just keeping in touch via Facebook for the past couple of years. We’ve gotten together a few times now for hours of talking, laughing, and yummy food, and it has been really fun catching up. When we were close a while back she was like family and my mom always had a soft spot for her because anyone who can make her daughter laugh as much as Megan makes me laugh is a good person to have around. So, this past Friday night for my weekly dinner with my mom, Megan joined us and it definitely felt like old times but it also felt fresh. We are grown ups now, well more so than we were before. Haha! She is a mom and she is venturing into her first time as a homeowner while also going to school to become a guidance counselor for high school kids. Things have drastically changed and it felt good to talk about the stuff that I have in my sights too, like having children, buying a home, etc. Adult talk isn’t new for us though as we’ve always sort of been older mentally than we are physically, but hopefully you get my point. My mom also fell right into step with our conversation because she is totally rad like that and we had a great time! I’m looking forward to getting together again soon for prickly drinks (a bit of an inside joke now) and a lot more laughter. Life is a whirlwind of sweet and sour but it is the laughter and bonding that make us happiest. So, on that note, I hope you all are also having a wonderful 2015 so far and cheers to the next nine months!

10989031_10153652793948265_1414918707391372739_n

Join the conversation

