Did someone say pork? Sign me up!

In an attempt to better myself, I have begun a transformation toward being the best me that I can be. Recently my mom and I got new Fitbit Flex wristbands to encourage us to walk more during the day. On top of trying to be more active, I’ve also been tooling around in the kitchen and creating my own dishes for dinners that not only taste good but they make me feel great too. Here is a dinner I made this week, and if you couldn’t tell from the title, I LOVE PORK!


BACON WRAPPED PORK CHOPS SERVED WITH THREE POTATO HASH & ARUGULA

INGREDIENTS:

2 Pork Chops
2 Slices of Bacon
Peppercorn Medley
Salt & Pepper

1 Sweet Potato
1 Yukon Gold Potato
1 Red Potato
Balsamic Vinegar
Low Sodium Chicken Broth
Minced Garlic

Arugula
Crumbled Feta Cheese
Candied Pecans


On two plates, place a handful of arugula and set aside. Set oven to 425F. Wrap a slice of bacon around the outside edge of each pork chop and stick a wooden toothpick through the chop and bacon to secure. Place chops onto a baking sheet and set aside. Next, peel the three potatoes and cut them up into small cubes. Place the cubes into a baking pan and add some balsamic vinegar, ground pepper, minced garlic, and fill it up with chicken broth. Carefully place pan into the preheated oven on the bottom rack and bake for an hour. These potatoes were a pain to make as the original recipe I used was drastically off the mark in their instructions and the potatoes were still raw after the hour of baking, even with my alteration of using more chicken broth so they’d boil a bit. Anyway, remove the potatoes from the oven, drain them, and then add them to a large skillet.

This is where things became a free for all because the recipe was so inaccurate that I had to just rely on my cooking skills to salvage these potatoes. So, I added a bit of olive oil to the pan along with more balsamic vinegar, garlic, and pepper and I cooked them for another 20 or so minutes. They softened nicely this way and ended up being really delicious so it was worth all the extra effort. Meanwhile, during this potato hoopla, I put the pork chops into the oven (on broil this time, top rack) and cooked them for about 20 minutes. Ovens vary so adjust time as needed.

Once everything was finished I put the pork chops on top of the arugula with a scoop of the potato hash. Sprinkled a bit more balsamic on top, added feta cheese crumbles, a few candied pecans, and some more ground pepper (we love pepper). The entire meal was delicious but next time I will definitely alter the cooking of the potatoes and ignore recipes that sound ludicrous to me from the get go. Hopefully if you choose to make a three potato hash you have better luck in the process than I did but at the end of the day, my taste buds were very happy with this dinner and so I consider it a success, plus it was all so pretty!
988891_10153627804613265_7584343085416539790_n

Has this ever happened to you? Share your stories below.

Join the conversation

