Friday I’m in love with food #5

Hey guys and gals, welcome to my new series where I highlight my weekly dinners with my mom. We frequent the same places often and try new places when we can, but we always try new things wherever we go. So enjoy the photos and reviews I offer here…and we will continue to enjoy the good eats! 😉


[The outside view of the theater. Image from their website.]

[The outside view of the theater. Image from their website.]

Restaurant: iPic Theaters

Location: Boca Raton, Florida

Price Range: Moderate to Expensive

Food Type: Appetizers, Salads, Entrees, Desserts, Full Service Bar, In-Theater Dining & Full Restaurant Downstairs. Serves seafood, poultry, and meat dishes, salads, etc.


OUR MENU

Drinks
Red Sangria – Served in take home plastic shakers with an ice and fruit filled wine glass to pour it into. $14/each

Entrées
Thai Coconut Shrimp – Breaded with coconut and orange zest, served with sweet chili dipping sauce. $14

Tater Tots – Served with bacon ketchup. $8

Mahi Mahi Fish Tacos – Grilled mahi mahi in flour tortillas with cabbage slaw and avocado cilantro sauce on top. Served with guacamole and corn chips on the side. $15


REVIEW

[This is the hallway off of the escalators that leads to the theaters. It’s gorgeous! Image from their website.]

[This is the hallway off of the escalators that leads to the theaters. It’s gorgeous! Image from their website.]

iPic Theaters is one of our absolute favorite places to go any night of the week. It is truly unlike any other movie theater anywhere else because of the experience as a whole. Sure there are tons of “dine-in” theaters all over the country, but iPic is in a class of its own. They have a full service restaurant called Tanzy on the ground floor and upstairs are the most impressive movie theaters you’ll ever see. The ambiance sort of reminds me of those fancy in-home movie theaters that rich people have. The beautiful orange leather seats fully recline with the push of a button (think la-Z-boy), there is a waitstaff that is at your beck and call throughout the entire film and can always be easily reached via a nifty button on your table, and the food is delicious. The entire experience of seeing a movie at iPic will make you never want to visit any other theater again and it will have you choosing only those movies that you deem “iPic worthy” since their prices are much higher than the average theater. By now, you’re probably wondering if I am getting paid for this post but I’m not. It’s just an awesome place and for the past three years we’ve been lucky enough to see tons of movies there in style and comfort.

Unknown-4

[Our drinks and appetizer.]

BUT you’re here for the food so let me get to it. 😀 Last night, like many others, we tried some things that we haven’t had before, aside from the sangria which we seem to be obsessed with lately. It’s just sooooo good, I can’t help but want it ALL. THE. TIME. Whenever we go to iPic we always order food to share because it’s more fun that way so we started with the thai coconut shrimp. They were breaded in an orange and coconut batter that has such an incredible flavor all on its own. Adding the sweet chili sauce takes that flavor to a whole other level though. It’s the kind of taste that mouths drool over. Next we had their tater tots that are served in a metal fry basket, perfectly crisp, with a bacon ketchup to dip them into. This stuff is insanely addicting, I wanted to climb into that container and lick it clean. Haha! I refrained, of course, because I’m a lady, but the thoughts are still with me this morning as I type this. SO GOOD! As our main meal we had mahi mahi tacos, which were pretty good, although for some reason they retained a lot of liquid from the fish and were kind of drippy. That’s not a great thing to have while watching a movie in the dark, but we survived it. The flavors were all there and like the shrimp, the pieces of mahi mahi were very meaty and massive. Definitely something I’d have again but perhaps I’d order them downstairs at Tanzy instead so I could see them better while eating.

As for the film, we saw the second movie in the Divergent Trilogy, Insurgent, and we absolutely loved it! I’ve read the books so I knew the majority of what to expect and surprisingly, I actually understood the changes that were made. The author was also a producer so I feel as though she knew what was best for her story and I respect that. I can’t wait for the next installment to come out, although I am not ready for the ending again. Experiencing it through the novel was already so hard and if you’ve read it, you know what I mean. Anyway, last night was incredibly fun, as my nights out with my mom always are, and I look forward to our next iPic adventure. We’re thinking of doing a brunch and a movie for a combination Mother’s Day/Mom’s Birthday weekend in May. If you’ve been to iPic, please share your experience with me and same goes for if you’ve seen/read Insurgent, OR if you just want to chat with me. 😀 Cheerio!

11066555_10153690629423265_8614715979808873891_n

[My mom and I]

Join the conversation

