Salads to-go-go!

Lately I’ve been trying to incorporate some healthier meals into my diet. With being a full time student, the ease of takeout can be so tempting but it can also be really devastating to my wallet. I have been trying to do more meal preparation in advance so that I can just grab ‘n go and it has been really great for school days. The only thing for me that doesn’t work so well is making foods in advance that need to be reheated because I do not have a microwave, nor do I want one. In the cases where my food needs to be hot, I prefer to cook it right before I plan to eat it. So, with my to-go foods being best served cold, I came up with a simple salad that is super delicious and satisfying.


11055705_288425247948139_2105882332_n

Blueberry Chicken Salad (single serving)

1 cup fresh blueberries
1 chicken breast
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
1 1/2 cups greens (I used a blend of 50/50 mix and arugula)
1 tbsp pine nuts


First, I seasoned the chicken with sea salt, ground pepper, and minced garlic. Then I placed it in a baking pan, poured some chicken broth in (up to the sides of the breast) and then baked it for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. I find that by using the broth it keeps the chicken from drying out and since it isn’t a fatty part of the chicken, that is important. After it’s finished cooking, remove it from the oven and let it rest for about 10 minutes. Resting meats before cutting into them allows them to retain their juices as well. When you cut into chicken or steak too soon after it cooks, the juices will seep out and you’ll be left with a dry piece of meat. Anyway, cut up the chicken into chunks and combine it with all of the other ingredients in a tupperware container.

As a dressing I mixed some EVOO (extra virgin olive oil), balsamic vinegar, organic honey, sea salt & ground pepper medley together and drizzled it on top. The measurements were not precise here, I mixed until it was the desired flavor for me. All I can say with certainty is that this whole combination is really yummy!

NOTE: Because pine nuts are often ridiculously expensive, those can be substituted with anything like almonds, seeds, crispy chinese noodles, or whatever else you fancy. It used them for some added crunch because I like that in my salads but don’t really want croutons.

Join the conversation

