Red Nose Day 2015

10502008_10153831685523265_8772272503673354951_n

On May 21st the United States celebrated Red Nose Day, which is apparently something that began in the United Kingdom first and did so well there that we decided to adopt the holiday. What first caught my attention was the most obvious thing about this day, the red Rudolph/clown noses that were at every register in my local Walgreens stores. At the time I just thought it was something silly and my husband ended up buying us both the red noses to cheer me up after we were in a car accident recently. It definitely worked and it also made me want more information about these noses. That’s when I discovered that the proceeds for these noses were part of a charity event that supports children in poverty in our country and others.

I also found out that there would be a television event with numerous celebrities involved in the cause and if you hashtagged #rednose25 on a selfie the day of via Twitter and Instagram, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation would donate $25 to the cause. So, for a few dollars per nose and the added fun of wearing them for fun pictures in an effort to raise money, the whole thing was incredibly sweet and well worth the time involved. I only wish that we could’ve done more financially but the charity was still able to raise $21 million dollars for the cause and over $700,000 of that total was raised primarily through these social media selfies, which is truly amazing!

11235437_10153831816013265_5905520802781376572_n

Based on our selfies above (my mom and I #1, my hubby #2) it is clear we had a lot of fun with this event. Did any of you celebrate Red Nose Day? If so, I’d love to see your red nosed faces…if not, you can still get in on the donation action by visiting their website here: RED NOSE DAY! The selfie incentive ends tonight at 11:59pm ET and there is an app where you can put an animated red nose on a picture of yourself. If you don’t make it in time, it’s still never too late to get involved by visiting the website above. 😀

2 thoughts on “Red Nose Day 2015

  1. The Guat says:

    The noses look good! We participated that day, we were watching the telethon and my son was was like … mom we have to donate now! So we called it in and had some fun with the red noses. We weren’t high-rollers but we were able contribute something and help the cause. Glad you were taking part too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krystal says:

      Thanks! The telethon was awesome…I’m glad you and your kids had fun with this too. I really love how enthusiastic your son was to donate. 🙂

      Like

Join the conversation

