Book Review: Scarlet

13206760Author: Marissa Meyer

Book Title: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles)

Genre: Young Adult – Sci-Fi/Fantasy

Type: Series (Book #2)

Format: Hardcover, 452 Pages

Publishing Date: February 5, 2013

Summary: Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.[summary from Goodreads]


My Thoughts: Cinder is back in all of her cyborg glory (YAY!), Prince Kai has his own chapters sprinkled in again as well, and there are two new guys in town named Thorne and Wolf. But the central focus of this book is the newest bad-ass female in the Lunar Chronicles; the fiery red-head named Scarlet and this is her story.

After I finished Cinder, I felt so unsure of where her journey was headed. Marissa Meyer definitely didn’t give readers any sort of closure or focus for this second book in the series, all we knew was that it would feature another fairy tale and her spin on it. I went into Scarlet with the focus of finding out about Cinder’s fate though and unfortunately, due to this laser focus in my brain, I missed out on getting into Scarlet’s story in the first few chapters. Luckily I quickly got out of this mindset and began to realize that Meyer is smart and she would eventually give me the answers I was hoping for, so I got invested in Scarlet and Wolf. What I love about this series is that even though this is introducing a new leading lady, it did not in any way detract from the initial book once it picked up steam. In fact, I think that I liked this one even better than the first. Not only was it awesome to leave New Beijing and head to a post-war Paris, but this book was actually darker and edgier than Cinder was. It had me flipping pages faster and faster as the climax of the story really hit it’s stride and I loved every second of that. If this is a sign for what’s to come, I am seriously excited!

Aside from being a slow start in those first few chapters, it really bothered me when Scarlet had a few fleeting moments of insecurity. I was briefly reminded of Bella from Twilight in the sense that she kept taking the blame for everything that was going wrong and she was also very naive about the strength of the people around her as she tried to keep them “safe” when she was actually the vulnerable one. Kind of like when Bella kept begging Jacob to steer clear of the Vampires because they would squash him like a bug. Yeah, she underestimated his basic instincts as a wolf, and coincidentally the male lead here is also a sort of animal and his name is Wolf. But I digress. This switch in Scarlet’s demeanor was no accident because this is what happens when girls become googly-eyed over boys. Am I right? Yep! From the start, Scarlet was this extremely confident girl who was a bit too aggressive to be a farmer delivering produce to restaurants, but whatever. She was also kind of a loner, aside from living with her grandmother on their farm. So when she developed feelings for this guy, after only a day of knowing each other, it was awkward, for me and for them. While I appreciate seeing women in vulnerable positions, I felt that this behavior wasn’t being true to the character in those moments, but then again she was delirious from a lack of sleep and was also dealing with extreme emotional turmoil because her dear grand-mère was kidnapped by lunatics. So, I suppose she’s allowed to have these ridiculous moments, I just hope that it doesn’t happen again, and that is what kept this book from being a five star read for me.

Overall this is a very cool world to get lost in and I am looking forward to digging into Cress!

Rating: 5-flowers

Quotable Moments: 

“I lied to you about a lot of things….but I meant every apology.”

“Her mind emptied of everything but the gusting wind and how fragile Wolf looked in that heartbeat, like one movement could break him open.”

Join the conversation

