The Battle of the Cups: Starbucks vs Dunkin’ Donuts

11379831_852779461506368_424348374_nIn the off chance that you missed the social media insanity this week, there is a war going on right now between the two rival coffee companies, and the coffee battle is only getting warmed up. Earlier this month, Starbucks unveiled their holiday red cup, something that customers wait all year for because it means that the beloved holiday drinks will be back as well. The difference with this year’s cup unveiling and previous years is that the cups are, in fact, red. That’s all they are. The green siren is front and center, per usual, and the cup that once upon a time had holiday designs like snowflakes, ornaments, and trees are now shining bright in their simplistic red bodies. This design has sparked the biggest debate since the dresses were white or blue and people are furious about it. The red cup of 2015 has sparked a movement by Christian folks who feel that Starbucks has waged a war on Christmas.

The thing that baffles me the most is that Starbucks also puts out numerous holiday mugs and cold cups, advent calendars, Christmas ornaments, and teddy bears (this year’s are dressed up as Santa and Mrs. Claus) every single year. The stores are also decorated in the cheerful colors of the season. Even the cardboard koozies that go around the hot cups as well as the plastic cold cups have a snowflake design surrounding the siren, but everyone seems to have missed this stuff in their blind rage over something that is, quite frankly, the most asinine thing I’ve ever heard. The cups are even being called “satan sippers,” which takes the whole thing even further into insanity.

dunkin-donutsThen, in an ever classy move on Dunkin’ Donuts part, they figured why not take this opportunity to add some fuel to the fire. So, they have just released their newest styrofoam (seriously?) holiday cups that say the word “Joy” in red on them surrounded by a green wreath-like design. While this is probably going to get them some added business during this cup war, what they have produced here honestly looks more like an ugly Christmas sweater than it does a festive coffee container. Plus it is made out of terrible materials when we clearly know that by now, in 2015, styrofoam cups are just completely unnecessary. But I digress.

When did the celebration of Christmas become the responsibility of a coffee company? Why does a red and green cup symbolize someones faith in Jesus? What Starbucks did with their plain red cup was open up the season to all holidays during this time of year, not just Christmas, because guess what? Other faiths patronize their establishment too and what is more progressive for 2015 than being all-inclusive, right? Not only is this concept inspirational, it is also a strategic business decision and unfortunately for all the haters out there, I’m betting my money on Starbucks gaining some new customers of diverse faiths who get to feel included for once.

2039673829_450coffe_showdown_10_21_2008_F61O4D5_xlarge

So, you clearly know where I stand on this whole thing (especially since I am a proud gold card member), but I want to know where you stand. Are you a pro red cup, pro white joy cup, or do you just want to continue enjoying your coffee (or tea and hot cocoa) in peace from either place, or from home? Regardless of your position, I’d love to know your views on this. Join the conversation in the comments below. 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Battle of the Cups: Starbucks vs Dunkin’ Donuts

  1. Violet says:

    Bad Wolf: Thank you for saying that. The more hate anyone has towards something ends up great in their favor. Thumbs up for Starbucks! And two thumbs up for the great read my daughter gave us today. I am still laughing at this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krystal says:

      Haha! Thanks, mom. I know you’re biased about my stuff, but I still totally agree. The more energy of any kind brought to something keeps it going strong. 🙂 Thanks for weighing in.

      Like

  2. The Guat says:

    I had no idea this was going on…I was unaware of this whole cup battle. I’m not huge on social media I’m a social-in-person kind of person. I was the one under the rock I guess. But thanks for the summary, I think these people are missing something upstairs … Red is a color. Get over it. I don’t see people getting all crazy over the Red Solo Cup it’s on every college campus. I don’t know maybe people are just bored and start inventing things to be mad about. What a trip. I don’t even drink coffee, but just because of this I might walk on up and get me one of those cafe lattes in a red cup with a lot of latte in it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krystal says:

      Yeah that’s totally understandable. I’m on social sites probably too much for my own good at this point. Haha! Anyway, I agree that it must’ve been sparked by boredom and then it caught the attention of other people who were also bored and wanting to just stir up trouble for kicks. It’s made me want more coffee than usual though, and I’m a big coffee lover so at this point it’s in an IV. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation

